1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IP address conflict

Discussion in 'Networking' started by SpitoCrono, Feb 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SpitoCrono

    SpitoCrono Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    I have two XP computers connected to a wired router sharing an internet connection. A few days ago, seemingly for no reason, I got the "IP address conflict" error in the trays of the computers. I've searched all over Google and done the things that people said to do, such as manually setting the IP address, rebooting, system restore. Nothing has worked. I found a link to a thread here with a problem similar to mine that was fixed, so I decided to ask for help here.

    Here's what I get when I type ipconfig /all :

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MOM
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain_not_set.invalid

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain_not_set.invalid
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-D3-B9-8C-91
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . :
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 71.159.154.38
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, February 03, 2007 1:11:54
    PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, February 03, 2007 1:21:54
    PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>

    Here it is from the other computer:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Shawn>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : shawnscomputer
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-18-B6-F1-3F
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255

    C:\Documents and Settings\Shawn>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : shawnscomputer
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain_not_set.invalid
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Adapter

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-18-B6-F1-3F
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . :
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 71.159.154.38
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, February 03, 2007 1:19:36
    PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, February 03, 2007 1:29:36
    PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Shawn>
     
  2. Daredeval756

    Daredeval756

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    236
    this is an easy fix run ipconfig /release then when that is done you should get a screen that all of your IP's are 0's, then run ipconfig /renew this will re-register with the DNS , and your problem should be solved.


    also, please re-edit your post and delete your WAN address, this is for your own good against hackers.
     
  3. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Yes, they both have the same IP address - 71.159.154.37 - which is the cause of the duplicate IP error.

    With your setup, they should be getting the IP from the router. It should be in the form of 192.168.0.x.. But again, they should be different. So one could be 192.168.0.2 and the other 192.168.0.3

    Make sure your router is set up for DCHP and each computer is set up to obtain an IP address automatically.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,974
    First Name:
    Terry
    And make sure that the modem is still connected to the router's WAN port. You could possibly get those results you showed if the modem's connection was moved to a router LAN port.

    Or maybe the router is getting really flaky. Have you unplugged it for a few minutes or more recently?
     
  5. SpitoCrono

    SpitoCrono Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    I bought a new router before I made this thread, so it shouldn't be "flaky."

    I tried the renew/release thing and it didn't work. When I renew it, it still uses the same IP address.

    How do I know if my (brand new) router is set up for DCHP?
     
  6. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Is it connected correctly?

    Typically the Modem gets connect to the WAN port on the router
    The computers are connected to the Ethernet ports

    Turn everything off

    Turn on the modem and wait a minute or so
    Turn on the router and wait a minute or so
    Turn on the computers

    Then check the computer's IP addresses again. They should be be the same as before.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,974
    First Name:
    Terry
    "How do I know if my (brand new) router is set up for DCHP?"

    It is if you haven't disabled it. It probably is because it gave you a partial IP configuration (assuming its LAN address is 192.168.0.1). To check for sure you could login to it and see whether the Dhcp server is enabled or disabled.
     
  8. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    "How do I know if my (brand new) router is set up for DCHP?"

    The way to be certain if DHCP is enabled on the router is to connect to it and look at the configuration.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/540842

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice