IP address conflict

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pennygrant

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2007
Messages
42
When I boot up, I see a Windows pop-up balloon with the message: There is an IP address conflict with another system on the network." I only have this problem with my laptop I use upstairs using a Linksys Range Extender. I am sure this is the problem---one that I am clueless to solve! Thanks so much!
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
This is not uncommon, here's the first set of steps to solve it most of the time.

Turn off everything, router, modem, and ALL the computers that are connected. Anything that uses an IP address, TiVo, etc., should be turned off.

Turn on the modem, wait for a connection.
Turn on the router, wait two minutes.

Boot the attached computers, one at a time.

The reason this happens many times is the router is powered off, but a computer is left running with an IP address assigned. Since the router doesn't know about that outstanding IP address lease, it gives the same address to a computer connecting to the router.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Well one easy way I've seen on more than one occasion is where someone outside the home is using another person's wireless connection. They set themselves with an IP address and it can conflict with an existing one.

Maybe not what is going on in this case but have run into it more than once.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
So once encryption was put on the wireless network the problem stopped.

Again might not be what is going on here but is why I asked the question.
 

pennygrant

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2007
Messages
42
I will try this and get back to you. I see where other "repliers" suggest to encript. I am not encrypted right now because the Range Extender during installation suggests to undo security for ease of installation. I wanted to get my error message problem solved before I encripted again. But I will start with your suggestion first! Thanks so much.
 

pennygrant

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2007
Messages
42
I did as you suggested (turn off everything--hook back up--have 3 computers. Now I have a different message and yellow triangle by my wifi connection: "limited or no connectivity". At least, no more IP conflict message. My other two computers show IP address of: 192.168.1.100 and 1.101. My wifi problem computer shows the following IP address and Default Gateway: 168.254.77.165. I also emcripted my router. Thanks
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Make sure the encryption key for that machine matches the encryption key in the router. Also, if you are using WEP encryption, use ONLY the HEX option, not the passcode option.
 

pennygrant

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2007
Messages
42
All three encription keys are the same on the three computers. Also my WEP uses the HEX option. My wifi laptop still says "invalid IP address" . Thanks for helping me.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

pennygrant

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2007
Messages
42
John, I have been surfing this site reading other emails. I see where you like us to "paste" stuff. I know how to do the run/other instructions. But I do not know how to paste. I am truly sorry. I only use WordPad---nothing fancy.
 

pennygrant

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2007
Messages
42
I am about to type out all the Run info. It occurs to me you want the info off the problem laptop not the working ethernet laptop. I will go ahead and type out the info from the "good" laptop first.

Host Name=Penny
Primary DNS Suffix=(blank)
Mode Type: mixed
IP Routing enabled: No
VINS Proxy enabled: No
----------
Ethernet Adapter LAN:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix:(blank)
Description: Broadcom 440x10/100 Integrated Controller
Physical Address: 00-11-43-68-04-13
DHCP enabled=yes
Autoconfriguration enabled:yes
IP Address: 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server: 192.168.1.1
DNS server: 66.82.4.8
Lease Obtained: Friday, July 13, 2007, 4:39:06PM
Lease Expires: Saturday, July 14, 2007, 4:39:06PM
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top