1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ip address is conflicted with WAN ip submet, please entrer again!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by p0ng0, May 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. p0ng0

    p0ng0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Hey,

    So, i have a Netgear DG834 (ADSL, wired) and a Netgear WPN824v3 (switch/cable wireless)...
    The DG834 address is 192.168.0.1 and the wireless is 192.168.1.1.

    I want to put both devices on 192.168.0.1 network!

    I have DHCP configured on the DG834, and have disabled DHCP on the WPN824...
    When i add configure the IP address on the WPN824 as 192.168.0.2 it tells me 'ip address is conflicted with WAN ip submet, please entrer again!'.

    I'm confused!

    Any help?
     
  2. p0ng0

    p0ng0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Here are screenshots of the LAN settings, sorry forgot to attach earlier! [​IMG] and [​IMG]
     
  3. p0ng0

    p0ng0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    199
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.

    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc. Note that you should use the same SSID and encryption key for the secondary router but a non-conflicting channel. I recommend channels 1, 6, or 11 for use for the best results.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

    For reference, here's a link to a Typical example config using a Netgear router
     
  5. p0ng0

    p0ng0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    In a usual situation, that would work.
    i've just been on the phone with Netgear and with no help. They told me the DG only works on network 192.168.0.1 and the WPN only works on 192.168.1.1 or 10.0.0.1 even though it allows you to re-enter the ips!

    So i'm no closer to where i'd like to be!

    The problem is, the device i am running is on wireless, so it's 10.0.0.1 now, and the ADSL is on 192.168.0.1 and thus when i forward a port on 10.0.0.2, it will not get through as the port is blocked on 192.168.0.1 and i can't add the service as the host is on a different subnet!
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    Maybe it would help if you told us what you are trying to do.
     
  7. p0ng0

    p0ng0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    iis is installed on a virtual machine that is wireless with the ip of 10.0.0.4. which is on the wpn, wireless switch. the wan is on the adsl router that has the ip of 192.168.0.1. I can open the port fr iis on the wpn attaching the host ip of .4 but on the dg834 it won't allw me to open the port on ip 10.0.0.4 as it alerts illegal ip as on dff subnet.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/924808