1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IP cam: Software OK, but IP in browser don't show camera

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bjorn2390, Mar 21, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bjorn2390

    bjorn2390 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Goal: To watch the camera remotely via Internet.

    (You maybe think this problem is sufficient covered in various forums, but really, I can't seem to get it right.)

    Camera is MySmartCamera, an IP and WiFi camera. This camera comes in various versions, but to see which I have: This is the one.
    As long as I am on the same router, the real-time video works on my iPhone (app = p2pCameraViewer) and PC (software = SYSM Monitor). Win7 Home Premium 64bit. I can also see the camera on iPad and an old tablet running Android.

    When I type in the ip-adress of the camera in my browser, the browser says This page is not available, and IP-adress is rejected... It tells me to check things, let the browser through the Firewall, and about proxy.
    The same result from Google Chrome, Opera and Internet Explorer.

    I'm using router D-link DIR-615, but also tried on ZyXEL P-2812HNU-F3. I'm now focusing on the DIR-615, because it seems a bit more user friendly in the setup.

    I've tried to read about port forwarding, and tried to follow how-to's and video's about this. No luck. Also the page http://arllc.net/findipcam/ recommended to change the IP-adress of the router from 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.1.1, because "some ip cameras have default ip address, like 192.168.1.178. If your router's ip address is not 192.168.1.x, then you are in trouble. oh, no. but you still have chance. Basically, you need to configure your router so it's ip address is 192.168.1.1." (So I did.)

    Also tried to use another router.

    What am I missing? Why can't I get the camera viewed in my browser? I guess this is the key to get further in getting it forwarded, so I can watch the camera from the Internet, e.g. from my office.

    I really would like to see a guide for dummies on this issue. I mean: Is there a spesific port I should use? I've read the guides for port's carefully. The guides usually shows how to connect to online gaming, but this?

    I really need the step by step guide for IP camera for dummies here. I feel I'm sooo close. The yet, so far away.
     
  2. keltic1der

    keltic1der

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    631
    First Name:
    Donald
    If you are just typing in the IP, it might be using http and not https, when I access the security camera's here we have it set to use https
     
  3. bjorn2390

    bjorn2390 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Thank you for your reply. I've tried without http, I've tried with http:// and I've tried https://
    None of them works :/
     
  4. keltic1der

    keltic1der

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    631
    First Name:
    Donald
    Can you ping the IP address from your device?
     
  5. bjorn2390

    bjorn2390 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Yes, I get respons from the IP-address. It answers.
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    Are you sure it has a web interface? Many of these cheap cameras don't and can only be accessed via their supplied software/app.
     
  7. bjorn2390

    bjorn2390 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Do you know how I can check this?
    If this is the case, it means the camera is no good for anything, other than in-house-use. Maybe for baby monitoring and so on. I didn't know it was possible that it could not work via Internet. The wifi-solution and the possibility in the app to use the app over the Internet maybe fools me.
     
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    If it supports it then it should be documented in the manual and the manufacturer's website, from what I've found it doesn't mention it. Also the low price of $20 suggests it might not have that ability. There's plenty of cameras that do support web access either directly through the use of port forwarding on your router or via a relay service. The camera's I generally deal with are Axis but they can be very expensive, DLink also has network cameras.
     
    bjorn2390 likes this.
  9. bjorn2390

    bjorn2390 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    I have the exact same problem with my Kkmoon camera. This is the one that I guess have the same components inside with all the other cameras that looks alike, I guess the plastic outside is more or less the only thing that is different between them. I'm talking about this camera. This also works without problems on the computer (SYSM Monitor), and on the iPhone (app = p2pCamViewer). It works plugged in the router, and it works unplugged (WiFi). But in the browsers, it will not show. @Triple6
    Any thoughts?
     
  10. bjorn2390

    bjorn2390 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    I mean, is this a coincident, or are both the cameras no good for this use?
    I've thought that since I can't get any of them to function, it must be I that is the problem...
     
  11. keltic1der

    keltic1der

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    631
    First Name:
    Donald
  12. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,952
    Axis cameras are indeed very nice.

    I personally am using Hikvision cameras. They're not as pricey as Axis cameras but are high quality cameras with very good video quality both in daylight and at night using the built in IR illumination. All of the Hikvision cameras can be accessed via app software or through a web browser. The cameras can also be centrally managed viewed from a single NVR. The indoor cube cameras I use also have 2 way audio capability, WiFi or Ethernet, can be powered via PoE or with a power brick, and have the ability to store video locally via a micro SD, via a NAS, or to your PC through the app software or web interface.

    Oh and the best part of the system, you're not a slave to any cloud service and monthly charges. Once you pay for the system, you're done and you have total control over all your captured video and equipment.
     
  13. bjorn2390

    bjorn2390 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    This is the right model camera, but the software is another than the one that came with the camera. The one you found (doyog) is a big challenge if you don't manage to read chinese (I don't), but copy-the-monkey-method of youtube video, I managed to get it in and fill in the right information in the dialogue boxes. But they don't accept my registration. Even: The field for email, has not enough caracters for my email address. (How 'bout that!) But I used another email address I have (shorter), and it took. But nevertheless, I can't log in with my new information. So this was pretty crappy. I just have to try again. And again. But if it doesn't work now, why should it work later?

    I managed to get the registration right on my iPhone. But adding a new device, putting in the information from the camera (Device, password/accesscode) will not work. It doesn't take, even though I get the confirmation.
    :rolleyes:
     
  14. keltic1der

    keltic1der

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    631
    First Name:
    Donald
    If it doesn't work now, it would be up to the manufacturer to add that option. No way of knowing if they will or not. Sorry
     
  15. bjorn2390

    bjorn2390 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Please teach me this (n)
    I have several more cameras, but I think there must be something I didn't knew I had to be aware of. Fortunately, camera's are getting cheaper day by day.

    To be sure, on the cameras I look for and buy now, what feauture in them should I look for to ensure they have "web interface", meaning they can
    • broadcast via web, and
    • give me warning on my mobile phone when detected motion?
    Take this one, for example. What is this one missing, or should I look for?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1168361

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice