1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IP Config Help

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jashar, May 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jashar

    jashar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    I have DSL run into the house than it runs to a wireless router. There is one pc connected to it by wire. Than I have a laptop that is wireless it connects fine. But i have a ethernet cord connecting the laptop and a 2nd pc and have bridged the 2 networks on the laptop, so the desktop has internet. But the problem is that every hour or so it says I have a Windows systme error which is that the laptop and the 2nd desktop is using the same wireless connection. So my connection drops for a minute and than reconnects and than things are fine again. Is there a way to fix this without moving the desktop up to the router?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,859
    can you post an ipconfig /all for the laptop and the desktop

    also why not get a witreless adapter for the desktop so it can connect directly to the router
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,519
    Does that error really say "same wireless connection" or does it say "same IP address"?
     
  5. jashar

    jashar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : GALLANT
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-D3-20-DC-1D
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.3
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::213:d3ff:fe20:dc1d%4
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, May 18, 2007 6:07:28 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, May 18, 2007 7:07:28 PM

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%5
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-02-03
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.2.3%2
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    It actually says there is an ip address problem not wireless! This is from the desktop connected to the laptop.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,519
    1. If this desktop is XP uninstall ipv6 because you don't need it, it sometimes causes problems, and then the ipconfig is easier to read.

    Start - Run - ipv6 uninstall - OK

    2. After you've uninstalled ipv6 and restarted the desktop, what is the laptop's IP address and what is the desktop's?

    3. I'll post this if the dup. IP addresses continue.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Craigbaby
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    287
  2. breezyleezy
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    548
  3. nortie1
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    469
  4. fecitymavi
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    640
  5. Sharon D
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    883
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/574343