1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IP connection loss after printing

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by jaggernaut, Jan 1, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jaggernaut

    jaggernaut Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Hey all!

    I wasn't sure where this one should go, so if this isn't the right forum forgive me. I have an interesting problem that is frustrating the heck out of me. I recently installed a cable modem and Zone Alarm as a firewall solution. After installing the cable ISP software and firewall I now lose TCP/IP connectivity whenever I print anything. I have to reboot any time I print anything, even from MS Word, just to re-establish the IP connectivity. I have talked to both the cable ISP and Zone Alarm, each pointing the finger at the other. I have tried uninstalling the ISP software, the firewall software (by their instructions, registry hack and all), the print drivers and even the TCP/IP protocol itself. Nothing seems to help.

    Can anyone out there lend some insight?

    Thanks in advance!
    J
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    you never had problems with the printer before?
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi jaggernaut, welcome to TSG.

    Can you post your IRQs? It sounds like you may have something fighting for the same one.....is the printer USB?

    To post IRQs, start button, run, then type msinfo32 and press ok....go to hardware, IRQs, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.
     
  4. jaggernaut

    jaggernaut Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Hi Aca and Saavy! Thanks for the replies....Saavy, in answer to your question, no I have never had problems with this printer before. Its an HP 932c DeskJet running on an HP Pavilion 500 mhz system. The printer connects via parallel port (lpt1).

    Aca, here are my IRQ's:
    0 System timer
    1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
    2 Programmable interrupt controller
    3 Conexant PCI Modem Enumerator
    3 Intel(R) 810 Chipset Graphics Driver PV 2.1
    3 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
    4 Communications Port (COM1)
    5 Crystal Audio Codec Game Device
    6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
    7 Printer Port (LPT1)
    8 System CMOS/real time clock
    9 Crystal Audio Codec
    9 Intel(r) 82801AB SMBus Controller
    9 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
    9 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus
    10 MPU-401 Compatible
    11 Intel 82801AB USB Universal Host Controller
    11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
    12 PS/2 Compatible Mouse Port
    13 Numeric data processor
    14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    14 Intel 82801AB Bus Master IDE Controller
    15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
    15 Intel 82801AB Bus Master IDE Controller

    Thanks again for looking at it for me! You guys are great!

    J
     
  5. jaggernaut

    jaggernaut Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Just giving this a bump up to see if anyone can help me out....in addition to the USB cable modem dying when I print from my LPT1 printer, I also have realized my USB scanner also dies after printing.

    What would cause my USB ports to become disabled when I print?

    Any ideas out there?

    Thx
    J
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    What other items are you running at startup?
     
  7. jaggernaut

    jaggernaut Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Nothing related to any hardware things that I can see...did you see anything weird in my IRQ settings?
     
  8. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    jaggernaut... go to start & run... type in msinfo32 & click ok...
    then click the + at software envirement
    then click on startup
    go to Edit & click select all
    then back to edit & click copy
    then come back & paste it here
     
  9. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    The IRQs look fine to me......go ahead and post your startup items as Savvy suggested.
     
  10. jaggernaut

    jaggernaut Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Okey dokey.....here are my startup items!

    Webshots Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Webshots\WebshotsTray.exe"
    ZoneAlarm Common Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe" -nopopup
    run Win.ini hpfsched
    Taskbar Display Controls Registry (Per-User Run) RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
    ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\taskmon.exe
    SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    Keyboard Manager Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Netropa\One-touch Multimedia Keyboard\MMKeybd.exe
    HPScanPatch Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPScanFix.exe
    hpsysdrv Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    USBMMKBD Registry (Machine Run) usbmmkbd.exe
    Norton Auto-Protect Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
    Adaptec DirectCD Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\HPCD-W~1\DIRECTCD\DIRECTCD.EXE
    TgAddServer Registry (Machine Run) "C:\@home\tioga\bin\tgfix" /fds "http://home.excite.ca/download/tioga"
    Tgcmd Registry (Machine Run) "C:\@home\tioga\bin\tgcmd.exe" /server /nosystray
    StillImageMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    HPDJ Taskbar Utility Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\hpztsb04.exe
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    Encompass_ENCMONTR Registry (Machine Service) C:\Program Files\Easy Internet\ENCMONTR.EXE
    Hidserv Registry (Machine Service) Hidserv.exe run
    SchedulingAgent Registry (Machine Service) mstask.exe
    TrueVector Registry (Machine Service) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service
    MiniLog Registry (Machine Service) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\MINILOG.EXE -service

    Thanks again for helping out!

    J
     
  11. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    take the checks off the ones below by going to start/run..
    type in msconfig & choose startup
    when finidhedd clock apply and ok... reboot

    Webshots Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Webshots\WebshotsTray.exe"

    TgAddServer Registry (Machine Run) "C:\@home\tioga\bin\tgfix" /fds "http://home.excite.ca/download/tioga"
    is spyware.... remove the check

    Tgcmd Registry (Machine Run) "C:\@home\tioga\bin\tgcmd.exe" /server /nosystray
    is spyware - remove the check

    StillImageMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    remove check and make a shortcut to the desktop

    when you finish with this go to http://www.lavasoftusa.com
    download ad-aware & run it to clear your pc of spyware
     
  12. jaggernaut

    jaggernaut Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    "TgAddServer Registry (Machine Run) "C:\@home\tioga\bin\tgfix" /fds "http://home.excite.ca/download/tioga"
    is spyware.... remove the check

    Tgcmd Registry (Machine Run) "C:\@home\tioga\bin\tgcmd.exe" /server /nosystray
    is spyware - remove the check"

    These two are not spyware. They are related to my cable ISP. I do have Lavasoft's Ad-Aware loaded and scan my machine daily. No spyware exists on my machine.

    I have unchecked the rest and still have the same issue...any other ideas?

    J
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63816

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice