1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IP trouble

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dear_vicky, Sep 18, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dear_vicky

    dear_vicky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Have gotten this message twice now

    Don't know what to do

    upload_2018-9-18_20-30-38.jpeg
     
  2. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,333
    First Name:
    Andrew
    It means you have 2 devices that have the same network address/IP address. You can try running a and called ipconfig /release and then ipconfig /renew from them and try to change the IP automatically.
     
  3. dear_vicky

    dear_vicky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    I have 3 computers - 2 laptops & 1 desktop (hardwired) provided by work & one other person uses their phone
    Do I need to do that on all of them?
    Any reason why this happened all of a sudden? Could barely use the damn thing yesterday
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018
  4. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6,271
    Get the IP address of the PC which had the IP conflict warning. Then go to the other devices and find out which one has the same IP address. But really, you only should need to do the ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew command Andrew suggested on that one PC.

    As to why, the explanation can get pretty technical. So not sure if you want that level of detail. But these things happen from time to time depending on the timing of when devices are reconnected to the network.
     
    metallica5456 likes this.
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,577
    First Name:
    Terry
    A common cause is that at least one device has a static IP address assigned and is either same as another device's or in the Dhcp server's address range.

    Some versions of Windows will recover automatically after giving the message.
     
    metallica5456 likes this.
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1216725

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice