1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Ipconfig media disconnect

Discussion in 'Networking' started by komuroto, Jul 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. komuroto

    komuroto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Alright so I own a desktop OPtiplex Gx260 (if i'm not mistaken)

    It runs windows XP s3 Home edition


    While the lap top runs Windows 7.


    Now That that shouldn't really be contributing factors to the issue, just wanted to give some background info.


    I have had constant internet problems for the passed 2 months, and I could not seem to figure out why. That is until someone from the internet idiotically tried to blame it on my cordless phone, which I know is not causing the issue they just always jump to that.

    The issue seems to be originating from what I can tell an IP conflicting between my desktop and wireless laptop. I stumbled upon a media disconnection issue on both and decided to ipconfig/release, and then renew the IPs of both.

    The desktop release, and renew, worked like a charm!

    However the lap top is telling me it cannot do so due to the disconnected media.

    I attempted to copy and paste the results but upon using keyboard shortcuts it merely types stuff like A^, or C^ .

    Any advice?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    59,033
    try using selecting all and the right click and copy / paste

    how are you connecting the desktop - cable or wireless
    you connecting the laptop by wireless - what happens if you try with the laptop connected by cable - just as a test

    if you can copy and paste here - even by putting all the results into notepad and copy to a different PC
    also attach screen shots if necessary
     
  4. komuroto

    komuroto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Sadly if I could have gotten it from that computer to this one via text I would have already.

    Might be able to do screenshot, piece by piece. Will try that if need be.

    The desktop is wired, and the laptop is wireless.

    And connecting laptop by cable does nothing different, already tried this.

    It reads as if there is still a disconnect.

    Now i can still access the net with either computer, just when doing so at the same time it causes IP confliction.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    59,033
    can we see an ipconfig /all - if you could type a little of the information in

    from the ethernet LAN adapter on the desktop and from the wireless adapter on the laptop

    it will sort of look like this - and perhaps you can just post the bits i have in red for both adapters
     
  6. komuroto

    komuroto Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Elric>ipconfig /all


    Windows IP Configuration


    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Elric-PC

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-C7-BD-CF-CD
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection* 16:


    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Anchorfree HSS Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-2B-47-D6
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel<R> WiFi Link 1000 BGN
    Physical Address . . . . . . . . . . . :00-26-C7-BD-CF-CC
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . . . : fe80::a416:467:70a8:fd7b%12<Preferred>
    IPv4 Address . . . . . . . . . . .. . . :192.168.1.3 <Preferred>
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease info ( irrelevant )
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . :192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 419440327


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection (Not used)

    Media State ....... Disconnected


    I typed this out by hand, this is what shows (mostly) for the Windows 7 lap top, which is suppose to be using the Wifi. Now keep in mind it still gets internet access, the problem is though that I will have indefinite loading on both laptop and desktop if trying to use them at the same time, which eventually leads to a modem crash.

    I can stop the loading, by turning off the laptops internet access, waiting a few minutes, and then everything works perfectly fine. I can recreate the problem nearly at free will.




     
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    59,033
    no need to type it all out -

    so do they both work one at a time all OK - if so then you should be able to paste here ok

    whats the info for the other machine - the bits i highlighted in red - or if connected paste it all

    the Ethernet connection needs to be set to automatic , although no IP are present - just that would not work if you needed to connect by a cable
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    WINDOWS 7
    ---------
    Setup to Automatically get an IP and DNS (DHCP) - for Windows 7
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Change-TCP-IP-settings
    whats the make and model of the router ?

    maybe worth updating the wireless driver if available - whats the make and model of the laptop
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1063369