1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IPF due to rpcrt4.dll

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by yknow, Dec 16, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. yknow

    yknow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    13
    I get on IE6(Once was IE5.5), an IPF caused by rpcrt4.dll, and i can't open addt'l windows on IE6. I downloaded an IE upgrade to IE6, and still got it. I downloaded Netscape6.2, and I get the problem there as well. I tried to download a new dll, but as it opened from a zip file, i still got no repair. Maybe I'm missing something?help
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya and welcome

    When the error comes up, is there a Details button? If so, click it and copy/paste the contents here.

    Also, what is your OS?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. yknow

    yknow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    13
    EXPLORER caused an invalid page fault in
    module RPCRT4.DLL at 01af:701424b0.
    Registers:
    EAX=0094095b CS=01af EIP=701424b0 EFLGS=00010212
    EBX=0093c820 SS=01b7 ESP=0093c640 EBP=0093c830
    ECX=77124438 DS=01b7 ESI=00000484 FS=496f
    EDX=bff76855 ES=01b7 EDI=7712454e GS=0000
    Bytes at CS:EIP:
    ff 30 ff 75 d4 8d 85 1c fe ff ff 50 e8 bd 01 00
    Stack dump:
    0093cb38 00000000 00000000 0093c788 0093c93c 00000000 00000000 0093c6f8 00000000 0093c724 00000004 00000001 00000000 00000000 70bde4d8 00000000

    os is win98se
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  5. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Probably the incorrect version of the rpcrt4.dll file. Look in the system file checker and see if you can replace it with the original
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya

    First off, lets see if you have any spyware. Go to www.lavasoftusa.org and download AddAware. Install and run, ensuring that Deep registry Scan is enabled. Remove all except any references to Web3000 or new.net. Post if you're unsure.

    However, we may have some other answers as well.

    As you have Win98se, have a look here;

    http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&th=3efe2de198d052c&rnum=1

    In it, it is suggested to download the following file:

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/release.asp?ReleaseID=29413&area=s

    Its also confirmed here about the download:

    http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&th=aa33fca2e6ac3444&rnum=6

    Tony, at the first of my links it mentions the DCOM and also the DUN. Would you say DCOM is the best bet?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  7. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    I checked, and I think DCOM 98 contains version 4.71.2900.2 of the file, and I have 4.71.2900, which is (supposedly?) older, so I think installing DCOM would be OK, and might resolve the problem

    Grtz.
     
  8. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Thanks Tony

    Haven't got Win98, so just follow Tony's link, yknow.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  9. yknow

    yknow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    13
    i installed DCOM98.exe, had no results
     
  10. yknow

    yknow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    13
    i can't click on the links cause my browser won't connect me, this is the problem this dll causes. i have to copy the link so are the "...'s" in the link part of the code that i have to copy or the sign of some letters missing that the link knows exists, and copies it to the URL?otherwise I'm missing the whole URL...get me?
     
  11. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    See if this works for you. Right click on the link and choose Copy shortcut. then right click Ie's address baqr and choose Paste.
     
  12. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    I'm not so shure Rpcert4.dll is responsible for you not being able to open windows by clicking hyperlinks.

    If there's a problem there, it's usually due to other dll's getting unregistered or corrupted.

    Maybe start at the beginning:

    To start with, do some cleaning:

    Shut down Internet Explorer and Outlook Express.
    Go to Control Panel/Internet, and clear your temporary Internet Files.
    Click on Settings/show files, and delete all cookies there.
    Now go to the Advanced tab, and click Restore Defaults.
    And go to the Security tab, and click restore defaults there as well.

    Now first try setting IE5 as your default browser. Go to IE tools/internet options/programs and turn on the check box for IE to check if it is the default browser. Shut down and restart IE. When it asks to be default browser, say yes.

    Also have a look at this MS article:

    Internet Shortcuts in Outlook Express Don't Start Browser

    It appears to refer to OE, but it's relevant all the same.

    Now go to Start - Run (type each line below separately, then press OK)

    regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll
    regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll
    regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll
    regsvr32 Mshtml.dll
    regsvr32 Urlmon.dll


    Note: you should see a brief message after each entry.
    Reboot and test IE - New Window, repost with your results.

    Finally, some (and this does refer to Windows 98 only) have reported that reverting back to an older oleaut32.dll version from their CD did the trick.

    So my next advice is to restore Oleaut32.dll from your Windows CD-ROM with System File Checker: How to Extract Original Compressed Windows Files

    Good luck,
     
  13. yknow

    yknow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    13
    I did whatyou said about Internet Explorer,then I did this: Now go to Start - Run (type each line below separately, then press OK)

    regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll
    regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll
    regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll
    regsvr32 Mshtml.dll
    regsvr32 Urlmon.dll


    Note: you should see a brief message after each entry.
    Reboot and test IE - New Window, repost with your results.

    THE first item on the list was unsuccessful, the rest were successful. For the first run on <regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll> the box stated:"LoadLibrary(Shodocvw.dll) failed Error returns 0x00000485 MSGSRV32 caused general protection fault in Module Krnl386.exe at 0001:000075a2" and I thought I could get past the "geek" stuff, but I'm stuck
     
  14. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Your 0x00000485 error means the file was not found, which means you should start by extracting it from your Windows CD-ROM.
    Even better, from your Internet Explorer Installation cabs, if you've held on to those, for the file there will be of a more recent version.

    Do this:


    Make sure your Windows CD-ROM's in the drive.
    Go to Start/run, and type SFC.
    Choose 'Extract One File From Installation Disk'.
    Type Shdocvw.dll, not worrying about its location. Then, click Start.

    Next to 'Restore From', type in or browse for the file’s location, which is probably in the Win98 folder of your installation CD-ROM (typically D:\Win98). Then, next to 'Save File In', enter C:\Windows\System, and click OK. System File Checker looks for the file, saves it as you requested, and then tells you that 'the file has been successfully extracted'.

    As I said, If you still have the IE cabs, point SFC in that direction, instead of that of the Windows CD-ROM.

    If you're running Millennium, the procedure is much the same, with only one difference:
    1. Click Start, and then click Run. The Run dialog box appears.
    2. In the Open box, type msconfig and click OK. The System Configuration Utility appears.
    3. Click 'Extract file'.

    And then proceed as explained at the beginning.

    Good luck,
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61908

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice