1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved ipv4 & ipv6 both say "no internet access"

Discussion in 'Networking' started by iforoc, Apr 28, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. iforoc

    iforoc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I am using windows 7 on my laptop & connecting to the internet with a shared WiFi, through which I also connect my other computer (windows 8) & my smart TV - both of which are working properly through the WiFi connection
    My windows 7 computer WAS working through the WiFi earlier today but now although the connection is stated to be connected, I can not reach any internet site. I note that both the IPv4 & IPv6 report "no internet access"
    I have run the ipconfig/all but I do not know how to copy that to the windows 8 (this) computer if that is needed to resolve the problem
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,992
    First Name:
    Terry
    Are you able to connect successfully via ethernet?

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    [Press ENTER after the command.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. iforoc

    iforoc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Hello Terry

    Thanks for your help

    How do I copy the ipconfig file to removable media? - The "Copy" choice is not available

    Thanks

    Colin
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,992
    First Name:
    Terry
    Just follow the above instructions. Te Enter after the Select All does the copy; then just paste to a text file and copy the file to another computer.
     
  5. iforoc

    iforoc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Hold on - maybe you dont need to answer that
     
  6. iforoc

    iforoc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Have config file on USB stick & loaded it into this thread, but it has disappeared - will try again

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\windows\System32>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ChrisPC-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Home

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 4C-ED-DE-95-76-C4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 4:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter #
    2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B4-74-9F-45-15-ED
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B4-74-9F-45-15-ED
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d03:e22c:a398:12d0%18(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 29 April 2017 5:22:33 Am
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, 30 April 2017 5:22:33 Am
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 414479519
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-F5-AE-4C-1C-75-08-87-B2-57

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 88-AE-1D-F3-5A-EF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6dd6:13b3:1219:bd83%17(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 29 April 2017 5:22:26 Am
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 29 April 2017 7:22:26 Am
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 354186504
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-F5-AE-4C-1C-75-08-87-B2-57

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.Home:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{EFC7B47F-849B-45A2-B326-F21E7C73A271}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\windows\System32>
     

    Attached Files:

  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,992
    First Name:
    Terry
    That shows both ethernet and wireless connections to the router.

    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system?

    Enter and show the results of the following tests the same way as for the ipconfig /all ...

    ping 192.168.0.100

    ping 192.168.0.1

    ping 8.8.4.4

    ping yahoo.com
     
  8. iforoc

    iforoc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks, Terry for your reply

    Until a few days ago, I had both landline & WiFi access to the internet

    The landline was through both ethernet & a wireless router

    I no longer have a landline connection, so the only connection I now have is WiFi (which shows as connected, but with no internet access - the one I am enquiring about & which was working earlier yesterday)

    I have ZoneAlarm, SuperAntiSpyware & Malwarebytes AntiMalware all of which were installed long ago (& when it was working on the WiFi yesterday)

    McAfee installs itself from time to time, but I delete that as soon as I notice it has returned

    I think there is also a Windows anti-virus which never displays its presence - can not remember what it is called

    There has been no change in any of these from before the computer was working on the WiFi to now

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Chris' PC>ping 192.168.0.100

    Pinging 192.168.0.100 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=128
    Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.100:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 2ms, Maximum = 3ms, Average = 2ms

    C:\Users\Chris' PC>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 2ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 2ms

    C:\Users\Chris' PC>ping 8.8.4.4

    Pinging 8.8.4.4 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 10.1.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 10.1.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 10.1.1.1: Destination net unreachable.
    Reply from 10.1.1.1: Destination net unreachable.

    Ping statistics for 8.8.4.4:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

    C:\Users\Chris' PC>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\Users\Chris' PC>
    C:\Users\Chris' PC>
     

    Attached Files:

  9. iforoc

    iforoc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    The only change of which I am aware between the WiFi working & not working is that the landline connection was disconnected
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,992
    First Name:
    Terry
    It appears that you may have two routers daisy chained. What, exactly, does your entire LAN look like--type of internet access, modem, router(s), ...?

    Run the McAfee Removal Tool and the Zonealarm Removal Tool. Restart after running each. Then repeat.

    I don't understand what you mean nor its significance. You used to have dial-up? Or DSL? But now you have some other type of ISP?
     
  11. iforoc

    iforoc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    It may have no significance, but thought I should tell you as it is the ONLY thing that I am aware has changed between the WiFi internet connection working & then not working
    I had a DSL connection using an ethernet connection through a D-Link modem
    About 6 months ago I changed that to an ethernet connection through a TP-Link modem to the DSL connection
    About one month ago I added the WiFi connection which - as far as I know - connected the windows7 computer, the windows8 computer & the Smart TV to the internet
    I have used the WiFi exclusively for all 3 since then
    Yesterday I asked the DSL ISP to disconnect my DSL connection
    It is only since hat disconnection was done that I have lost the WiFi connection to the windows7 computer. The WiFi connection to the windows8 computer & the smart TV still works
    I mentioned the DSL disconnection just in case that is a clue to why the windows7 computer no longer works on WiFi - my thought being that maybe - just maybe - the windows7 computer is still actually configured for the DSL connection & not the WiFi as I thought
     
  12. iforoc

    iforoc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Replying to your earlier question, the windows7 computer still has the ethernet cable connected to the TP-Link router, which is connected to the landline outlet, but that outlet has been disconnected by the DSL ISP
    However, the windows8 computer is also connected to the TP_Link router by the computers internal WiFi

    Good God - I just disconnected the ethernet cable & the windows7 computer is now connected to the internet
     
  13. iforoc

    iforoc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I am sorry to have wasted so much of your time, Terry

    Thank you so much for your help
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,992
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)
     
  15. TonyB25

    TonyB25 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    2,540
    If you cancelled your DSL, what internet connection are you using? An open hotspot?

    I ask because you need to know what you're connected to for security reasons.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1189142

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice