1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ipv4 & ipv6 not connected - no internet connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by chimchim8000, Feb 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chimchim8000

    chimchim8000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    All of a sudden I cannot connect to the internet on my laptop using the ethernet or wireless. My desktop computer is fine.

    It says that there is no connection on ipv4 and ipv6 and that my connection is limited (even though there is no connection.

    I have followed everything I could in the following thread with no improvements.

    http://forums.techguy.org/networking/886409-connected-limited-access-but-no.html

    I am on Vista and have had no problems with connectivity until today.

    Is there any way someone could help me? Thanks.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,910
    We need to have information on make and models of all your the equipment please.

    PC/Laptop
    Router/Modem
    Who is the ISP (Internet Service Provider)
    The desktop machines that is working - is that cable or wireless ?

    -> firewall blocking - what firewall / secruity program do you have ?
    -> wireless Encryption - Remove any wireless encryption from the router, and try to connect - post back results

    You will nedd to save these and copy onto the desktop - using a thumbdrive or CD-rw
    {ipconfig /all}
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all

    -> Start > run {search bar in Vista} > cmd > ipconfig /all
    post back the results here


    TWO Methods to do that - if you cannot access the internet with PC, then use method 2 to copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Method ONE -------------------------------------------------------------
    start > run {search bar in Vista} > cmd > ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Method TWO -------------------------------------------------------------

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    {Ping Tests}
    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Ping the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all
    Post back the results

    Ping google.com
    Post back the results

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Ping 209.191.93.53
    post back results

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} > network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Download, copy to PC and install
    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php

    Then run the program and post a screen shot of the program running
    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. chimchim8000

    chimchim8000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    We need to have information on make and models of all your the equipment please.

    PC/Laptop
    Sony Vaio PCV R222G (older but works fine for internet) - Windows XP SP3 /
    Toshiba Laptop Satellite A505-S6965 - Vista Home Premium 64bit SP2

    Router/Modem
    DLink DIR-825 / Motorola Surfboard SB5120 Cable Modem
    Who is the ISP (Internet Service Provider)
    Cox Communications
    The desktop machines that is working - is that cable or wireless ?
    Ethernet cable direct to Router
    -> firewall blocking - what firewall / secruity program do you have ?
    Outpost Firewall 2009
    -> wireless Encryption - Remove any wireless encryption from the router, and try to connect - post back results
    No change with security disabled. PC connects fine. Laptop cannot connect over ethernet cable or wireless (only get connected with limited access notification). There is also an unsecured wireless network in my neighborhood and the laptop will connect but only with "limited access" or in others words none.
    You will nedd to save these and copy onto the desktop - using a thumbdrive or CD-rw
    {ipconfig /all}
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Howard-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    {Ping Tests}
    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Ping the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all
    Post back the results
    Do not see default gateway above

    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    Ping request could not find host

    Ping 209.191.93.53
    post back results
    Pinging 209.191.93.53 with 32 bytes of data:

    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.

    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.

    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.

    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.

    Ping statistics for 209.191.93.53:

    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} > network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X
    Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Realtek RTL8168D/8111D Family PCI-E GBE NIC

    No ! ? or X shown


    I will post the Xirrus Wifi screenshot shortly.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You have no network hardware that is recognized by Windows Networking.


    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.

    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
     
  5. chimchim8000

    chimchim8000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Xirrus screen as requested
     

    Attached Files:

  6. chimchim8000

    chimchim8000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    See attached Devices screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

  7. chimchim8000

    chimchim8000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    JohnWill -

    Thank you for your reply. I attached a screenshot of my network adapters above. Why would the network hardware stop being recognized all of a sudden?
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,910
    strange the wireless tool can see the wireless signal and so can the adapter but not connect

    a few ideas

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    From a Johnwill post

    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
     
  9. chimchim8000

    chimchim8000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    So far no change in connectivity.
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    After you run the repair suggested by Terry, post another IPCONFIG /ALL again.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,910
    can you try in safe mode with networking
    tap F8 as the PC boots
    try the commands again
     
  12. chimchim8000

    chimchim8000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Here is the current ipconfig /all:


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Howard-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Something is very wrong here.


    Check that all your network services are Started:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
     
  14. chimchim8000

    chimchim8000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Tried with same result. Says it failed to reset.
     
  15. chimchim8000

    chimchim8000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11

    All are started and on automatic startup with the exception of "Network Connections" which is on Manual startup
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/900941