irfan view

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

SeanCunningham

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
14
Recently when I try to open certain photos and attachments I get this msg

Decode error.
Can't load Ghostscript (AFPL version) or ghostscript error.

How do I fix this?

Thanks, Sean:)
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,213
Sorry to hear about that ... I'm booted to XP right now.
In Vista ... Something about Right click on a file > open with > choose > Always do > etc.

Otherwise .. I'd send you to folder options.
Some Vista user should be along shortly.
 

SeanCunningham

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
14
Vista is a pain in the A** I think because it's so new no one really knows how to use it!!!
What I am trying to do, is it Change defaults programs?
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,213
I think M$ really messed up .... Anyway .. YES

It's my conspiracy scam theory that they wanted to make another ME .. so they could sell us another.

Where's the Vista users ..
If they don't show up soon .. I'd hate to have to boot it up and see if I can figure it out.
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,213
Another cup of coffee .. and another thought ...
Do you even have Adobe Reader 8.1 installed ???
Installing AR 8.1 should fix this.
Then you'll have to go to msconfig and shut down all the AR startups.
 

SeanCunningham

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
14
No, don't do that!!!! You will regret it!!! Ok I know how to go to default programs (it's in the start menu) I have just installed Acrobat Reader.
When I try to set program Associations all the programs in Irfanview that are checked are 'ghosted' meaning I can't uncheck them. And there is no pdf option.

BTW Thanks for the time, if it becomes a pain in the butt, just forget it.

Everyone has their own things to worry about without having to wory about someone elses problems.

Also, you are wondering where all the vista users are....they are farting around trying to fix their bloody computers!!!
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,213
I don't Forget ... YES - they were all up late last night trying to fix their computers.

Don't try to fix this in Irfanvew.
Right click on a pdf >> open with ... then see below ..
 

Attachments

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,213
Don't do What ??? ... I'm in Vista HP (PITA) right now.
 

Attachments

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,213
Where'd Ya go ???
Just noticed that I needed to upgrade from AR 8.0 to AR 8.1.

I've disabled UAC and hiding behind the free WinPatrol... http://www.winpatrol.com/winpatrol.html
It stopped (at my option) all the Startup Garbage and BHOs that AR 8.1 tried to install.

If these shots don't look like Vista .. I'm running in Classic mode so my TclockEx program works.
Pretty is only monitor deep.

My new msconfig startups list ...
 

Attachments

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top