1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Irfanview tip

Discussion in 'Tech Tips and Reviews' started by phoneguy55, Jan 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. phoneguy55

    phoneguy55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    199
    Irfanview tips

    ...Irfanview remembers the most recently used directories ( MRUD) ..if an image is still anywhere on your pc, it may show up the next time anyone opens Irfanview. To prevent this you can manually clear the files from Irfanviews "short term" memory by going to Properties and selecting the tab "Others 1" and clicking on CLEAR button.

    You can also disable this feature entirely by.....Properties.... selecting tab "Others 2" and unchecking the box " Add MRUDs to menu file"

    If you were to ...let's say use Irfanview to adjust color on a few "spicey" scans you did....you might not want those "spicey scans" to pop up the next time the kids opened a .jpg....ahem.....not that it happened to me or anything....?
     
  2. jose

    jose

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Where do I get irfanview?
    Thanks,
    Jose
     
  3. phoneguy55

    phoneguy55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    199
    right here

    ( newest version 3.8 adds a few neat features )
     
  4. Deke40

    Deke40

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,096
    Can I install right over 3.75? I tried and got the following error message:

    <img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=696795">
     

    Attached Files:

  5. phoneguy55

    phoneguy55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Messages:
    199
    ...I wondered the same thing and took a chance and clicked on the .exe download and it went in fine, right over the older (?) version I had.
    I checked the "add/ remove programs" list and it only shows the one instance of Irfanview there,...so I must assume it overwrote existing files where needed and added the new stuff right into the existing Irfanview folder .

    ....I've been putting it through the wringer to see what new stuff is buried within, and have found a few gems already. They may have been there all along, but I just found them since the update.

    -I notice a "panorama" feature for stitching shots together.....
    -the basic viewer window seems to have added some file info on the status bar.
    -Right clicking while dragging, lets you navigate within a large image with the cursor instead of needing to use the slider bar.
    -printing from within Irfanview adds a window of page set up options above and beyond the basic windows print options.

    I'll share any other good tricks that show themselves as I explore...
     
  6. anglin_fool

    anglin_fool

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,100
    hey Deke,


    I just did . . .

    No Problems
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/114922

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice