1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IrfanView ??

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by rhettman5, Dec 24, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rhettman5

    rhettman5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,825
    I d/l IrfanView to play with gif's and resize for avitars. My problem is with resizing, the help file says to click image and then resize/resample,but, everything except "create new image", "Effects",: Swap Colors", and "Palette" are greyed out ! Is there a setting I am missing to enable resize / resample ? I am sure it's obvious, just not to me :)...Rhett
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    hey rhett... you click image & go down to.... resize.. wait let me go look...lol

    yea thats right... make sure you make another copy w/ a slight different name til you learn to use this
     
  3. rhettman5

    rhettman5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,825
    That is my problem Savvy, almost everything in the Image tab is greyed out and unuseable, including the resize option ! perhaps the image I am using is protected some how, still playing with it though , will see what happens...thanks...Rhett
     
  4. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    Rhettman5

    sound to me like you don't have a image open yet

    click file then open then choose a picture and open it.. that should activate the resize option as well as the others under the image tab

    buck
     
  5. rhettman5

    rhettman5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,825
    I have the image in the window, and the animation is working, but when I click image, no go, perhaps I installed the program wrong, I will see if I can get a screenshot and post it here...Rhett
     
  6. rhettman5

    rhettman5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,825
    any Ideas ?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Rhett I got the same thing on the one jpg I opened... let me see if they all are that way.


    Nope... I just opened my photo & its fine with it. Must be the style that ones in.
    If it was animated you can't change it.

    try opening the image in paint & change its extension
     
  8. rhettman5

    rhettman5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,825
    I must have misunderstood, I thought you could resize gif's (animated) to get a avitar small enough to post, There must be a way as there are several floating around at the site, once again, :) Thanks...Rhett
     
  9. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    Howdy

    I haven't been able to confirm it in writing... but it doesn't appear that you can resize Annimations in Irfranview :(

    buck

    Edit... post it full size and I'll size it for you
     
  10. rhettman5

    rhettman5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,825
    It's not that I want it done...It's that I want to do it :confused: Thanks for the offer:) ...Rhett
     
  11. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    wonder if I can...


    <herf img="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=304553">
    I loaded it to paint & resaved it . then sent it to irfanview & was able to make the background translucent
     

    Attached Files:

  12. rhettman5

    rhettman5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,825
    Just so you guys can play :) here is the animated gif, was going to use it as a Avitar, but almost to late now !
     

    Attached Files:

  13. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    Rhett

    You can do them online Here for free :)

    buck
     
  14. rhettman5

    rhettman5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,825
    Say, why don't you post that link at tips and tricks, I think lots of people would be interested and kudos are good !!....Rhett
     
  15. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    Rhett

    Here's a quick crop and resize if you want it

    like you say though..not much time left

    happy holidays

    <img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?postid=304591">

    buck
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62808

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice