IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL blue screen

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Extr000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
3
Not sure if this is the correct forum for this question but any help is appreciated.

My computer suddenly froze and after restarting showed a blue screen:

IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

I tried to restart it again but my monitor has repeteadly said 'Cannot find signal'. I have tried it on three different screens and still no luck.

I was told the issue could be fixed by uninstalling any recent hardware or drivers, but I've not installed anything like that for at least 4 months and it has been working fine up until now.

Not sure if the monitor signal and the blue screen issues are related but I'd appreciate any help possible in getting my PC up and running again.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,923
Can you get into the BIOS (or Setup) and does the monitor work there?

Can you boot into Safe Mode?
 

Extr000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
3
Nope, absolutely nothing comes up when I start up the computer. I've tried pushing the keys to get into the bios after starting it up and still no luck.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,923
I'd figure that the display adapter has died. Am moving the thread from Windows 7 to Hardware, where you may get better help.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,248
Start by posting your exact hardware specs; ie make and model of mb, brand and wattage of pw supply, brand and speed of ram, etc, etc.

Next have you plugged in a known good monitor OR tested your monitor on a working system to make sure it works?

Post back with info and we can start some basic troubleshooting.
 

Extr000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
3
Tested it with three different monitors which work fine. The VGA cable works as well as I tested it with my laptop.

I can't access the full details but the PC is Acer Aspire M3641, stats from their website below (more or less accurate as far as I remember):

Processor Intel Pentium D 2.2 GHz
Chipset NVIDIA nForce 630i
Installed Memory 4 GB (DDR2 SDRAM)
Operating System Microsoft Windows 7
HDD Size 500 GB
Optical Drive Type DVD-ROM • DVD Burner • CD-ROM • CD Burner
Processor Number E2200
Processor Type Intel Pentium D
Processor Speed 2.2 GHz
Processor Manufacturer Intel
Socket Type Socket LGA775

Not sure if this is what you are asking for with power wattage etc, taken from inside case:

AC input: 220-240V, 3.15A, 50Hz
DC output: +5V, 16A max

Brand: LiteOn
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
42,248
OK, I would start by swapping in a known good pw supply. You have onboard video on that system. It does have a slot for a real video card so if the known good pw supply does not fix the problem, then install a known good video card.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top