1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Irritatin little IE anomaly

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by spartan11, Nov 19, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. spartan11

    spartan11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    21
    I did a search but with 31 pages to look through I didn’t have the patience to look at all of them. This is mostly just an irritation at this point. IE works fine but a little anomaly showed up last week. I had IE 5.5 and when I found this anomaly I tried upgrading to IE 6 but it’s still there. For whatever the reason, I went into tools/internet options on the general page and wanted to change the length of history kept. Hadn’t done this in a while but the first thing I noticed is that I can only enter two digits. Funny thing is, I distinctly remember being able to enter three. I have IE 5.5 at work too and when I looked at it, sure enough I have three digits available. Well, I checked the registry entries on my work machine, which were consistent with what shows on the general tab, and went home to look. What I had done was bump it up to 99 but when I look at the registry it actually says 999. Another little anomaly that showed up when I upgraded was the history button on the tool bar above lost it’s text somehow.

    I’m going to follow all the advice about repairs and reinstalls I’ve seen so far but I have to admit that my confidence in Bill’s products is not high so while I my plan says to do these things, I thought I would check to see if anyone has encountered these specific little frustrations and has corrected them.
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,984
    Hiya

    I'm not certain if IE 6 has the writing removed on the History button. Someone using it may confirm this.

    I assume you've tried the repair. As for the History, it may be a tweak using a program called TweakUI.

    Also, when you went to the registry, did you look at this key?

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Url History

    Mine says

    DaysToKeep 0x00000014 (20)

    20 is the days I keep for.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. Brooks

    Brooks Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,323
    I checked mine, and it only allows me to set 2 digits for history retention.

    Mine also says 999 days.

    Dunno what the problem with that is. Sounds like something Microsoft overlooked.
     
  4. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    If you are running windows 2000, this is somewhat normal but can be resolved.
     
  5. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    I just checked up on this for all Windows. Right click your desktop>active desktop>customize desktop>appearance tab>click the down arrow in the item box>choose scroll bar>what is the setting number to the right? Mine is 15 and I can show 3 digits. Set it smaller in increments until you can get 3 digits.
     
  6. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    Howdy

    I have XP with IE6...I also only can set a maximum of two digits for history but ....the registry says 999.
    You can add the text to all the icons on the toolbar... right click the toolbar ...select customize then in that window click the down arrow next to Text Options and select Show Text Labels

    buck
     
  7. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,984
    Doyce

    That was interesting. Mine is set to 16, but you're right. Just moved it to 15 and can now get 200. Its as the scrollbar gets smaller, it can hold more numbers.

    If only everything could be that simple :p

    eddie
     
  8. DoyceJ

    DoyceJ

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    Just got lucky. :)
     
  9. Brooks

    Brooks Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,323
    In Xp the settings to change the scrollbar are in a slightly different place.

    Right click the desktop
    Click properties
    Appearance
    Advanced
    Change the item to scrollbar and then change the setting to 15.
     
  10. spartan11

    spartan11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    21
    Sorry, haven't checked back in a while. I found the scroll bar thing like the next day so that solved that problem. It is listed in Microsoft if you search right. But the other... Well, I was using "selective text" because it leaves more room for buttons and it is true that if you select "show text" it will do that but what I was referring to was that the previous version of IE had the text on the history button when using "selective text" but this one doesn't. That's why I said irritating. What's the point of that change? Unless there's something I'm missing... Anyway, thanks for all the clues but I still have that little irritation with the label missing.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59031

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice