1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is 256mb of DDR Ram enough?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by max 8, Dec 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. max 8

    max 8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    571
    Hello. I just bought a new system 2 weeks ago w/ 256megs of DDR Ram. I have a 1200mhz AMD Athlon cpu, 32meg video card, dvd player and cdr-w drive.
    I was thinking of adding another 256megs of DDR ram to my system. I use my system just to backup my playstation/ps2 game (I don't run any other programs when doing this), playing computer games and helping out a PSX Forum on the internet.
    Will adding more memory help me or will I just be wasting my money?
    I know it won't help speed up download time but just on an overall basis.
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    256 is enough for what your doing.
    The only reason I would up it is if you doing graphics work

    Of course, if the price is too good to pass up, the more the merrier
     
  3. max 8

    max 8 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    571
    Thanks for the reply Brian.
     
  4. kramnnim

    kramnnim

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    489
    If you find a cheap place to buy another 256, you might consider disabling virtual memory, which might boost performance.
     
  5. PatInAz

    PatInAz

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 1999
    Messages:
    50
    I would say the current 256mb is plenty. Unless you are doing heavy graphics work, or the kind of development work where you have a bunch of applications open at the same time.
    Or if you run WinNT which goes thru more memory than the other OS's.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63458

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice