1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is 300 watts enough?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ChaseBeenFaded, Dec 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ChaseBeenFaded

    ChaseBeenFaded Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Hello, I currently need help. I'm getting a new gpu and CPU for Christmas (hopefully) and was wondering if a 300 watt power supply would be enough to handle AAA gaming. I'll be getting the gt 1030 ddr5 gpu and the Ryzen R5 1400 CPU nothing more. Would a 300 watt power supply be able to handle gaming at AAA titles low to medium settings without any problems or bottle neck? I haven't seen a game the gt 1030 couldn't run at low settings 720p at least. An answer before Christmas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. I also have 6gb ram 5.47gb usable. No gpu currently just a chip.
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,821
    You want at 600W power supply to power the graphics card.
     
  3. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    If it's a branded PC what make and model is it ? If not what power supply and motherboard ?
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,922
    300W is the minimum requirement for the video card you intend to purchase. Here is the spec sheet for the 1030;
    https://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gt-1030/specifications

    There are a few other things;
    1 IMO going with min spec is asking for a problem. IF it is a high quality pw supply like a seasonic, that might be ok. If this is an oem type pw supply, forget it.
    2 The 10xx series cards need a uefi bios to function [most of the time] If this is an old system with a legacy bios, the card most likely will not work
    3 Do understand that the 1030 is NOT a gaming card; it is for general use ie running office, watching a movie, etc

    It would really help if you posted ALL of your exact system specs.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - watts enough
  1. M0KlN
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    350
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1219937

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice