1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is a Gtx 280 going to bottleneck a amd 5600?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by IamDan, Apr 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. IamDan

IamDan Thread Starter

Im trying to upgrade my computer to play world in conflict, empire:total war, warcraft, etc... and need to figure out how to effectively upgrade my graphics processing power. I am a noob so if this is stupid forgive me lol.

2. Compiler

Compiler

So you're concerned that a GF-280 going to be too slow for your 5600?

The way to say, is the GF280 going to be bottle necked BY the AMD x2 5600, perhaps.

Well, that depends on what you have now. Also, you may need a power supply upgrade.

This benchmark screen, all of these CPUs should be using the GTX280. Top end AMD X4 and intel Quads are 126~133fps in Left 4 Dead. Your CPU is 82fps... http://www.anandtech.com/bench/CPU/48

If your 5600 is an AM2+ type type CPU and your motherboard is standard (Not an HP), you maybe able to upgrade your PC with a quad core CPU.

Note: newer AMD X2 CPUs are scoring 110~115fps.

3. IamDan

IamDan Thread Starter

Yes, you worded the question right for me, thanks.
    The exact details of the processor are AMD Athlon 64 x2 Dual Core Processor. My computer is an HP so i assume the motherboard is as well, if hp refers to the name brand... Does this mean an upgrade to the cpu is not possible? How is an upgrade made to a cpu?
    The computer is about a year old, so might fall into the newer amd x2 cpu category you specified.
    Also, I have a larger power supply ordered right now, it is indeed needed.
    Thanks much.

4. Compiler

Compiler