1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is a Labtop same as a desktop?

Discussion in 'Random Discussion' started by hamster, Dec 11, 2001.

Mark Solved
Advertisement
  1. hamster

hamster Guest Thread Starter

Hi, I'm new to puters and always wanted a laptop, but the thing is does it has the same power as it's Desktop brother??

I mean with the same stats// megahurtz and everything, does it work the same?? Or is the Desktop stronger because it is bigger??

thank you.

2. RandyG

RandyG

Laptops are not going to be as current in specs as desktops, but they can be pretty powerful.

There are different aspects to a laptop, depending on what you want to use it for. There are slimline ones that are used for school and briefcases. There are mid range ones that have slightly larger screens ideal for the working guy on the go. Then there are desktop replacement laptops. Generally a little heavier than a standard laptop, but with 15" screens, DVD, etc, they are handy.

One thing I can say, having a laptop that is a little better in spec than a desktop, the desktop still outperforms it. I believe this has something to do with the size and heat generated from the laptop, but not sure. I can say that if I had a choice between a laptop and desktop of the same spec, I would choose the dersktop because it would be less expensive and easier to upgrade.

3. littlemar

littlemar

RandyG
    I have to agree with RandyG. Laptops are good for the mobile person that needs access to his programs no matter where he goes, school, work, etc.