1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is Divx compatible with Vista???

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by dhyanesh82, Sep 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dhyanesh82

    dhyanesh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Hey guys

    I hav Windows Vista basic..for past couple of months i m having trouble watching Divx videos online..whenever i start any Divx Quality video it runs for a while say for few minutes and then its start pausing and sometimes it recovers but again pause and then the whole pc is hanged..i cant access anything,even the ctr-alt-del doesnt work...i hav to restart it from the main power button...so i cant watch any videos online that has DIvx quality..rest of videos work not as good as they should but i can watch atleast....i even tried reinstalling the windows...didnt format and did the clean install but i just ran the setup on the earlier one and erased the previous windows files...but didnt help at all...

    please help me guys as i hav been suffering a lot...i cant watch anything online...
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. dhyanesh82

    dhyanesh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Hey guys

    its been days i created this thread and no one has time to even look at it??? i m suffering from this problem and no one had any solutions????
     
  4. dhyanesh82

    dhyanesh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Dude...i downloaded file u attached..as u said i turned off windows firewall,spyware doctor and the whole Mcafee antivirus...then extracted it..so a .exe file create but didnt hav an icon i mean if a windows cant find any picture then how it looks it was like this a blank icon...then i tried to run it as a normal user as well as admin...when i double clicked on that...nothing happens..nothing comes...no installations...i kept on clickin and nothing happens...then i turned everything on.and Mcafee immediately removed it as a backdoor trojan virus...then i tried to extract it..Mcafee wont let me do..keep on removing as a backdoor trojan....is this really a trojan man????
     
  5. dhyanesh82

    dhyanesh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    ok dude...thanks for finding solution for me......i will see who can help me now??
     
  6. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    110,109
    Unfortunately, Vista_master is a malicious poster and his attachment is infected. He has been banned and the attachments removed.

    I suggest you do a system restore to before you ran that file immediately.

    Let me know how if you can do that successfully please.
     
  7. dhyanesh82

    dhyanesh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    ohhhhhhh ****..i didnt know that that guy was playing wid me by sending a virus...but when i tried executing the file that didnt run...nothing was executed and then after turning on my antivirus it immediately deleted it...so do i need to do system restore????
     
  8. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    110,109
    I understand how you feel about what happened but ask that you be mindful of your language just the same please. ;)

    So you tried to execute it. Do you remember the name of the file you tried to execute or at least the file extension (such as .exe or .bat)?
     
  9. dhyanesh82

    dhyanesh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Mcafee didnt delete the rar file..i had extracted it...but the exe file after unzipping didnt run...when i tried to run it...and Mcafee dleted that exe...but the rar file i had to delete manually....
     
  10. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    110,109
    Do you remember the name of the .exe file? Are you sure McAfee deleted it or did it possibly quarantine it?
     
  11. dhyanesh82

    dhyanesh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    well the warning pop up came....Back door trojan detected and removed...i dont think i remember the name of that exe file...but Mcafee said it detected a backdoor troja and removed....
     
  12. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    110,109
    You mentioned earlier that you tried to execute it with your anti-virus turned off and it was only detected when you turned it back on. We don't know what virus, trojan or whatever we're dealing with or the payload.

    All I can say is if it were my machine, I would do a system restore to be on the safe side.
     
  13. dhyanesh82

    dhyanesh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    thanks Cookiegal...i hav restored my pc to time before i got that virus...is tr anyway u can help in my original issue??? i just can watch divx streaming videos...
     
  14. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    110,109
    I'm sorry but unfortunately, that's not an area that I have much knowledge in :(

    I wish you luck and hope you find a solution to your problem.
     
  15. CCjon

    CCjon

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    292
    Try using the compatibility mode and run the player under windows xp.That works for me
     
  16. dhyanesh82

    dhyanesh82 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    sorry CCjon but coudnt understand ur suggestion..can u elaborate plz??? what is compatibility moe and how can i do that??? and i dont hav windows xp...just vista home basic so how can i run in windows xp??
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/625446

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice