1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is Hard Drive failing?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jruru, Jun 4, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jruru

Jruru Thread Starter

Hello, my first disk i have been using for about 7 years had finally came to its end today, when it corrupted everything and slowed at starting/stopping. Now My secondary disk which I was using for 3 years, and it only had 9gb in use (it had 1tb space) I switched it as my primary since I am near bankruptcy (usually happens at the end of month), my money will come in 13th, and i have alot of work to do in my computer (part time jobs + gaming) after switching to secondary (all data was saved in usb & web cloud) I had a message coming that this disk can fail at any time, It didn't showed any signs of death yesterday, also today it slowed like hell it took like 15min to shut down. Nothing was corrupted. Is it just because I am using it for alot of time and it had like 2 folders for 2 years and did nothing else. ATM it is working great & fast but I am worried if it suddenly turns upside down!
    Thank you!

2. lunarlander

lunarlander

Time to backup your data. If it is SMART that issued the hard drive warning, you better listen to it - it is never wrong.

3. Jruru

Jruru Thread Starter

Smart did not issue any drive warning. But how can a seconedary drive, idle for 1 year and healthy & working yesterday get corrupt so easily.

4. lunarlander

lunarlander

Bad sectors develop by themselves over time. I guess it has to do with the magnetic coating.

5. Jruru

Jruru Thread Starter

I think google might freeze any time because stuff is now slowing doing suddenly.

6. Jruru

Jruru Thread Starter

Ok now i think I did something very wrong.
    I will link you up everything: