Is Internet Explorer required for Secunia PSI?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

aSILENTfire

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
142
I haven't gotten Secunia PSI to work for a long time now, its running in the taskbar and notifies me that programs need updates, but I cannot open the GUI. I heard that Secunia is tied to IE, do I need to install it to make it work?
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
3,992
I just tried running it and it would not run unless I installed the Java plug in. Since I don't trust Java any longer, I guess I won't be using it anymore.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,096
I just tried running it and it would not run unless I installed the Java plug in. Since I don't trust Java any longer, I guess I won't be using it anymore.
Java 7 Update 11 has been updated to Java 7 Update 13 and contains fixes for security vulnerabilities.

------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Phantom010

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,796
In your computer's Control Panel, Java is set to prompt you by default whenever a website requires the Java plugin.




 
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
3,992
Lunarlander,
I'll be darned. When I try to run it the Java Plug in pops up, so I x it out and try to run it with no luck. I installed Java and now it is working again. Go figure...
 

Phantom010

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,796
Lunarlander,
I'll be darned. When I try to run it the Java Plug in pops up, so I x it out and try to run it with no luck. I installed Java and now it is working again. Go figure...
Secunia OSI requires Java, not PSI.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
57,793
Secunia PSI needs Admin rights to run. It should also tell you that if you try to open it from a limited user account.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top