1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is it okay to mix ram? Same size same speed

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by YacBrah, Oct 3, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. YacBrah

    YacBrah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Hi guys I want to upgrade my ram. My computer currently only has 6gb ram (3x2gb)
    I've seen someone selling some ram which seems to match my specs perfectly for next to nothing.
    They are 3x2gb sticks
    Ddr3
    1333mhz

    All of. Those specs are the exact same as my current ram. Is there anything else I need to consider or will this be fine.

    My motherboard is
    Gigabyte Technology EX58-UD4
    it has six slots and supports up to 24gb ram

    I've. Uploaded screenshots of my specs and photos of. The current ram stick in my PC
     

    Attached Files:

  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,821
    Some mobo's support dual channel ram access. Usually, if it has this feature, the ram slots are divided into 2 groups and each group is colored differently. In order for dual channel to work, each group should be of the same make and speed.
     
    YacBrah likes this.
  3. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    Check if it is ECC ram, if it is it will not work.
     
    YacBrah likes this.
  4. lynx1021

    lynx1021

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,567
    What Allan said, make sure the ram for sale is not ECC ram (ECC ram used in servers). It should work. If you buy it and install , you can test the memory by going here http://www.memtest86.com/technical.htm and create a bootable CD or USB to test it. (Run overnight).
     
  5. YacBrah

    YacBrah Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Ac
    Actually I'm pretty sure it's dual channel it did have different colours.

    Hmm this sounds pretty complicated maybe I'll just replace the old ram with brand new. Instead of trying to mix
     
  6. RT

    RT

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    11,266
    I've always heard it's best to match RAM with a compatible RAM, the specs mattering more than the brand.
    So here's where I usually start:

    http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/memory-info

    Small scanner download, but if you have the specs right, you can buy from whom ever you choose.
    Never been disappointed yet.
     
  7. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    Why not buy 2 and try them first ? If they don't work with the existing ram you could buy more then.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1217333

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice