1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is it possible to edit one HTML page with another?

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by kidzrule, Oct 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kidzrule

    kidzrule Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Is there any way to get Page_1 to edit a certain portion of text on Page 2?
    Like say, I have a text input box thingy on Page_1. When I type something into it, it'll edit a certain portion of text on Page_2.

    And a side question:
    Does PHP require any kind of server software?
     
  2. nj2b

    nj2b

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    60
    html is static, so you'd need some sort of server side scripting support for dynamic content. I'm not that familiar with Javascript, but it can alter content on the fly; however, I don't know if it's capable of doing what you need or not. Look into document.getElementById or document.getElementByName. AJAX may also do what you need.

    If you want to output php from a browser, then you'll need a web server. If you just want to try out code, then look into cli.

    HTH
     
  3. TheRobatron

    TheRobatron

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    551
    To edit a separate page, you would need a server-side language like PHP. It would be quite simple to just the file_get_contents() and file_put_contents() functions to do what you want.

    And yes, the webserver needs to be running PHP for you to be able to execute PHP files.
     
  4. kidzrule

    kidzrule Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks for the replies guys. I'll take a look into those.
    =)
     
  5. MMJ

    MMJ Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,625
    You can look for some php file managers.
     
  6. MRdNk

    MRdNk

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    Check out the rather cool MooTools.net which is a OOP Javascript framework.
     
  7. kidzrule

    kidzrule Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks for more suggestions guys.
    Found a friend who knows how to do this stuff. I'll probably bug him into helping me [​IMG]
     
  8. TheRobatron

    TheRobatron

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    551
    Well if that doesn't work we can help with some code if you need it :D
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/759725

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice