Is my Centurylink ZyXEL PK5001Z Modem a hardware firewall?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

CluelessInSeattl

Will
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2009
Messages
64
I'm a old disabled guy on a fixed income, so all my hardware and software is hand-me-down.

I've got an old Pentium 4 PC on which the the previous owner had installed Windows XP Pro. I much prefer it to another hand-me-down PC running Windows 7, given to me by my cousin, but I digress.

My ISP is Centurylink and I use one of their leased ZyXEL PK5001Z modems.

Some local computer buddies (who still run a BBS) have repeatedly told me that that modem serves as a "hardware" firewall, and that therefore I should not be running a software firewall.

But everytime I boot up the P4 I get this warning: "Your computer might be at risk, no firewall is turned on."

That makes me nervous.

Do you agree that my modem serves as a firewall and that I may safely ignore the warning?
 

metallica5456

Andrew
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
10,340
Yes, it does. I agree with Cookiegal as well. You should ALWAYS run both the hardware and software firewalls for an added layer of protection.
 

CluelessInSeattl

Will
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2009
Messages
64
Thanks, Cookiegal & metallica5456 for that helpful advice.

I downloaded the free ZoneAlarm firewall, but it turns out my old hand-me-down laptop is running XP SP2, and ZoneAlarm requires SP3. I'm not sure I'm up to the task of installing SP3, so I think I may just go with the built in Windows firewall.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,127
Running Windows XP on only SP2 is very risky, it's even risking on SP3 but at least it has more security and will allow you to get the over 100 updates that followed it which you are running without.

I think we need to check to see if the operating system is genuine. If the previous owner never updated it to SP2 it may not be, depending on how long you've had it.


Please run the MGA Diagnostic Tool and post back the report it creates:
  • Download MGADiag to your desktop.
  • Double-click on MGADiag.exe to launch the program
  • Click "Continue"
  • Ensure that the "Windows" tab is selected (it should be by default).
  • Click the "Copy" button to copy the MGA Diagnostic Report to the Windows clipboard.
  • Paste the MGA Diagnostic Report back here in your next reply.
 

CluelessInSeattl

Will
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2009
Messages
64
Thanks for that tip, Cookiegal. Here's the report. To my untrained eye it doesn't look good. It's got a big fat ostrich egg (i.e. a zero) for the validation code:

Diagnostic Report (1.9.0027.0):
-----------------------------------------
Windows Validation Data-->
Validation Status: Validation Control not Installed
Validation Code: 0
Cached Validation Code: N/A
Windows Product Key: *****-*****-GD6GR-K6DP3-4C8MT
Windows Product Key Hash: s2kt66ZJWfV4nS1wFD5F9bxTSDw=
Windows Product ID: 76477-OEM-2111907-00102
Windows Product ID Type: 2
Windows License Type: OEM SLP
Windows OS version: 5.1.2600.2.00010300.2.0.hom
ID: {13F9022D-4234-468C-A4F6-7E909A5C255E}(1)
Is Admin: Yes
TestCab: 0x0
LegitcheckControl ActiveX: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
Product Name: N/A
Architecture: N/A
Build lab: N/A
TTS Error: N/A
Validation Diagnostic: 025D1FF3-230-1_E2AD56EA-765-d003_E2AD56EA-766-0_E2AD56EA-134-80004005
Resolution Status: N/A

Vista WgaER Data-->
ThreatID(s): N/A
Version: N/A

Windows XP Notifications Data-->
Cached Result: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
File Exists: No
Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
WgaTray.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
WgaLogon.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

OGA Notifications Data-->
Cached Result: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
OGAExec.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
OGAAddin.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

OGA Data-->
Office Status: 100 Genuine
Microsoft Office Professional Edition 2003 - 100 Genuine
OGA Version: N/A, 0x80070002
Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
Office Diagnostics: 025D1FF3-230-1_E2AD56EA-765-d003_E2AD56EA-766-0_E2AD56EA-134-80004005_E2AD56EA-765-b01a_E2AD56EA-766-0_E2AD56EA-148-80004005_16E0B333-89-80004005_B4D0AA8B-1029-80004005

Browser Data-->
Proxy settings: N/A
User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Win32)
Default Browser: C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
Download signed ActiveX controls: Prompt
Download unsigned ActiveX controls: Disabled
Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins: Allowed
Initialize and script ActiveX controls not marked as safe: Disabled
Allow scripting of Internet Explorer Webbrowser control: Disabled
Active scripting: Allowed
Script ActiveX controls marked as safe for scripting: Allowed

File Scan Data-->

Other data-->
Office Details: <GenuineResults><MachineData><UGUID>{13F9022D-4234-468C-A4F6-7E909A5C255E}</UGUID><Version>1.9.0027.0</Version><OS>5.1.2600.2.00010300.2.0.hom</OS><Architecture>x32</Architecture><PKey>*****-*****-*****-*****-4C8MT</PKey><PID>76477-OEM-2111907-00102</PID><PIDType>2</PIDType><SID>S-1-5-21-1078081533-152049171-854245398</SID><SYSTEM><Manufacturer>Dell Computer Corporation</Manufacturer><Model>Inspiron 1100 </Model></SYSTEM><BIOS><Manufacturer>Dell Computer Corporation</Manufacturer><Version>A21</Version><SMBIOSVersion major="2" minor="3"/><Date>20030721000000.000000+000</Date><SLPBIOS>Dell System,Dell Computer,Dell System,Dell System</SLPBIOS></BIOS><HWID>CCFF3607018400E2</HWID><UserLCID>0409</UserLCID><SystemLCID>0409</SystemLCID><TimeZone>Pacific Standard Time(GMT-08:00)</TimeZone><iJoin>0</iJoin><SBID><stat>3</stat><msppid></msppid><name></name><model></model></SBID><OEM/><GANotification/></MachineData> <Software><Office><Result>100</Result><Products><Product GUID="{91110409-6000-11D3-8CFE-0150048383C9}"><LegitResult>100</LegitResult><Name>Microsoft Office Professional Edition 2003</Name><Ver>11</Ver><Val>6B953C38B4A15D8</Val><Hash>Kvvk6oVtvtvEAnBT34Uw04Al4X0=</Hash><Pid>70145-748-9075095-57554</Pid><PidType>1</PidType></Product></Products><Applications><App Id="15" Version="11" Result="100"/><App Id="16" Version="11" Result="100"/><App Id="18" Version="11" Result="100"/><App Id="19" Version="11" Result="100"/><App Id="1A" Version="11" Result="100"/><App Id="1B" Version="11" Result="100"/><App Id="44" Version="11" Result="100"/></Applications></Office></Software></GenuineResults>

Licensing Data-->
N/A

Windows Activation Technologies-->
N/A

HWID Data-->
N/A

OEM Activation 1.0 Data-->
BIOS string matches: yes
Marker string from BIOS: A000:Dell Inc|A000:Microsoft Corporation
Marker string from OEMBIOS.DAT: Dell System,Dell Computer,Dell System,Dell System

OEM Activation 2.0 Data-->
N/A
 

CluelessInSeattl

Will
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2009
Messages
64
Thanks, Andrew. I agree that need to wean myself from XP and that it's time to replace this old underpowered laptop. I do have a PC running Windows 7, but I've been so ill lately that I've been unable to sit up at my desk at the PC. And I have to confess that even though I've had that PC for a couple of years or so, I've yet to figure out how to do the most rudimentary tasks with Win 7.

However replacing the XP laptop is near the top of my things-to-do list. That would probably be a better investment of my time and energy than trying to upgrade to XP SP3 with my flaky Internet connection.

Well one issue I see is that SP3 has a LOT of security patches and updates for XP.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/help/learn-how-to-install-windows-xp-service-pack-3-sp3#

Download sp3 from the link and then proceed with the firewall installation. FWIW, windows xp is severely outdated and In my opinion, I would recommend you to upgrade to at least windows 7.
 

metallica5456

Andrew
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 1, 2013
Messages
10,340
Aww, hope you feel better soon.

I would indeed agree with you and you could probably find a CHEAP "everyday use" windows 7 laptop on your local Craigslist for a mild fee.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,127
The report shows that it's Windows XP Home (not Pro) but it hasn't been validated so it does look suspicious.

Please go to the following link and try to validate it and then report back. If successful, please run the MGA Diagnostic Utility again and post the new log.


https://www.microsoft.com/genuine/validate/
 

CluelessInSeattl

Will
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2009
Messages
64
Hi again, Cookiegal, Thanks for sticking with me through this process. I'm afraid I'm having problems on that web site you referred me to. The instructions there say:

"In the WgaPluginInstaller.exe pop up window, select Save File."

But I don't see a pop up window. I'm using the Firefox browser. Could that be the problem?
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,127
Yes, you probably need to use IE.
 

CluelessInSeattl

Will
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2009
Messages
64
Yes, you probably need to use IE.
I reinstalled IE6 in XP SP2, but when I try to go to that URL I get this:

The page cannot be displayed

The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.

Yet, I'm still able to display that same page in Firefox ESR 38.5.2, albeit without that elusive pop-up for downloading WgaPluginInstaller.exe.

I'm an old guy severely disabled by chronic illness and I've been sick with a debilitating bout of bronchitis that's dragged on for nearly a month now, so I'm struggling mightily to summon the energy to keep plugging away at this problem.

We've drifted way off topic in this forum, which is supposed to be about networking. What do you think about my starting a new thread in a Windows XP forum, and then posting there with a link back to this thread?
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,127
I'm not sure what you mean by reinstalling IE because you can't uninstall it.

Unfortunately, we can't continue until we know for sure the operating system is genuine.

Perhaps try resetting IE to default settings and then see if it works.
 

CluelessInSeattl

Will
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2009
Messages
64
Sorry, I guess I misspoke. Long ago I removed IE from my machine by using:
Start>Settings>Control Panel>Add or Remove Programs>Add/Remove Windows Components

So today I used the same steps to "Add" (not "reinstall," sorry) IE6. And I just now clicked "Restore Defaults" under Tools>Internet Options> Advanced.

But I when I try to access: https://www.microsoft.com/genuine/validate/ I still get:
The page cannot be displayed

The laptop has an XP sticker on the bottom of the case with a product key. Could that be helpful?

Or, since it's a Dell laptop, do you think I should try to get some help in a Dell forum?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top