1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is my firewire card bad? Or is it my camera? PLEASE HELP!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mixx941, Sep 2, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mixx941

    mixx941 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    742
    Hello all. About 4 or 5 months ago I posted a lot of messages on a thread about Pinnacle Studio 7 not working. The problem was when I went to output the finished project to my camera (Sony DCR-TRV730), the picture would keep freezing and make a blue screen on my camera.

    Now, I got Adobe Premier, and it does the same thing. Upon playback of my finshed project, it freezes throughout the project, and makes a blue screen.

    Could this be due to a faulty camera or firewire card? Is there software update I would need for my firewire card?

    Any help would be much appreciated as I have a project to do on Premier.

    Thanks

    -Mark
     
  2. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    Firewire is touchy. Some card generally never work, others work okay. What OS are you running and SPs have you installed. Have you looked for updates for the firewire card?
     
  3. mixx941

    mixx941 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    742
    I am running Windows XP Home Edition. As far as SP, none that I know of. I just do the Windows Update thing when it tells me to.

    I am not sure the model of my card, I don't know where the box is. I think it's made by Actiontec.

    Please post back with any ideas.

    -Mark
     
  4. mixx941

    mixx941 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    742
    Hello all. I called Actiontec support and they said something like when I had 98 Second Edition I had to use their driver, but when I upgraded to XP I was supposed to remove it and use XP's driver. Of course that wasn't in the directions.

    So the rep told me to remove the driver from the device manager. I asked him "Are You Sure?" he said yes. So I did it. Then he told me to go to Run>Regedit. I did that. He told me to go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE and look for the Enum folder. I do not have an Enum folder under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE. He said "You Have A Problem". But he wasn't able to figure out what. So now I can't even use my cameras.

    A while back I was corresponding with a Microsoft rep about many issues. One time we were messing around in the RegEdit utility. I don't know if that had anything to do with it or what.

    What can I do now? I have no idea! If you are going to suggest a clean install, I don't think I really can do that. All of the contents on all 3 of my Hard Drives I must keep. A lot of programs I don't have the disks for anymore, and a lot of programs are no longer available. If a clean install on the C drive is what I MUST do, then I need some way to back EVERYTHING up. I have Norton's Ghost, but I never could get it to work. I know this is the hardware forum, but if you have any suggestions on this please tell me.

    Also feel free to PM me!

    Thanks In Advance...I really need some help because now I can't even use my webcam that I need to use everyday :(

    -Mark
     
  5. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
  6. mixx941

    mixx941 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    742
    I downloaded and unzipped it. This is what the file is:

    -----------------------------------------------------
    ; 1394AT2K.INF -- This file contains descriptions of Actiontec 1394 FireWire Card
    ; Host controllers supported in Windows 2000
    ;
    ;*** Created 04/26/2000 (Creation Date)

    [Version]
    ;Signature="$WINDOWS NT$" ; JSG - What to do???
    Signature="$CHICAGO$"
    Class=1394
    ClassGuid={6BDD1FC1-810F-11D0-BEC7-08002BE2092F}
    Provider=%MSFT%
    LayoutFile=layout.inf, layout1.inf
    DriverVer=04/26/2000,1.00

    ; =================== Class Sections ===========================

    [ClassInstall32]
    Addreg=1394ClassReg

    [ClassInstall]
    Addreg=1394ClassReg

    [1394ClassReg]
    HKR,,,0,%1394ClassName%
    HKR,,Icon,,-21

    ; =================== Table of content =========================
    [DestinationDirs]
    DefaultDestDir=12
    1394_CopyFiles=12
    OHCI_CopyFiles=12

    [Manufacturer]
    ACTIONTEC=GENERIC

    ; =================== ACTIONTEC 1394 FIREWARE CARD ========================

    [GENERIC]
    %PCI\CC_0C0010.DeviceDesc%=GENERIC_Install,PCI\CC_0C0010
    %Actiontec.Decription%=GENERIC_Install,PCI\VEN_11C1&DEV_5811&SUBSYS_58111668

    [GENERIC_Install]
    CopyFiles=OHCI_CopyFiles, 1394_CopyFiles


    [GENERIC_Install.NT]
    CopyFiles=OHCI_CopyFiles, 1394_CopyFiles

    [GENERIC_Install.NT.Services]
    AddService=ohci1394, 2, GENERIC_ServiceInstallSection

    [GENERIC_ServiceInstallSection]
    DisplayName=%PCI\CC_0C0010.DeviceDesc%
    ServiceType = 1
    StartType = 0
    ErrorControl = 1
    ServiceBinary = %12%\ohci1394.sys




    ; =================== Generic ==================================

    [1394_CopyFiles]
    1394bus.sys

    [OHCI_CopyFiles]
    ohci1394.sys

    [ControlFlags]
    [Strings]
    MSFT="Microsoft"
    1394ClassName="IEEE 1394 Bus host controllers"

    PCI\CC_0C0010.DeviceDesc="OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller"
    Actiontec.Decription="Actiontec 1394 FireWire Card"
    ---------------------------------------------------

    What would I do with this?
    Also, It said it was written in 2000. XP wasn't out then, does this matter?

    -Mark
     
  7. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    Mark,

    For safety use System Recover and create a checkpoint, so you can undo it if you need.

    To install it open My Computer and right click the .INF file and select Install. Then reboot and test.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/93860

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice