is my modem a winmodem???

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kraddler2003

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2002
Messages
107
how do i tell if i have a winmodem or not>>in device manager?? its a broadexant dsi v.92 pci dsi di3631...that is all it says in device manager.i hear that winmodems suck because they use the cpu to do all the work..and a real modem dosent....how do you tell the difference between them?whats the cost difference/?.. i thought my modem was pretty decent..with aol i get a connection speed of 5066kbps 90% of the time..lowest is like 4099..anything under 4800 i redial..
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2002
Messages
1,629
WinModems are not true modems... true... but it means they eat a bit more CPU time, but not noticable considering if you have a 1000+Mhz CPU. It has nothing to do with "connection" speed...

You want more speed... get DSL. In the USA, typical costs is now $30.00 a month (Which is what I pay)... hmmm. compare that to $25.00 for AOL or $10~15 for typical dial up...
3~4K per sec vs 700~900k per sec (pay an extra $10~30 for 1000K or more)

WinModems tend to be more of a problem for Linux users...
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
272
As they say "If it works,don't fix it".
In most cases,if a WinModem is configured correctly,it will have fewer issues than many others,remain stable and then just forgotten about...
You can't hardly beat that...,considering all the other issues a computer can have.
As far as the CPU usage when you are on-line,chances are that your system is at full bore anyway.What possible difference could the few hertz that it takes to run the modem mean?

Basically,if what you have works well for you,don't screw with it...

Oh,and don't believe everything that AOL tells you.Connection speeds change all the time that you are "on".The distribution of signal is determined by the load on the network at any given time.
There are some utilities that will tell you exact connection rates at the time you check them.I have seen my dial-up change from 50k to 26 to 43 in a matter of seconds...
If you can dial and get connected,you might as well stay with it rather than re-dial hoping to get a faster connection.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2003
Messages
209
Krad don't try to tweak that Broadxent modem. I tried to tweak mine now it stalls out and I have to reboot everytime I go offline and try to reconnect. Good thing I get DSL on Monday. That modem has given me nothing but trouble. Good luck with it.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2001
Messages
1,742
GwizJoe:
"As far as the CPU usage when you are on-line,chances are that your system is at full bore anyway."

If your system is performing like that you have severe hardware or configuration problems. Even with 41 processes running in the background, 15 webpages open, Outlook open and checking for new mail, downloading Norton Anti-Virus updates, participating in the forums, listening to music and running Task Manager yields ONLY about 1%-3% CPU usage. Peaks at ~9% occasionally on the system I'm on now and it's 3 years old!
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
272
I'm sorry...,I should have worded that differently.
What I meant to say was,it should have ALMOST 100% "AVAILABLE" at that time...

geeezzzz....,I need to drink either a lot more or much less coffee before I start typing.

You are absolutely right,any system,depending on the available RAM resources,processing ability and,configured correctly...,should never run at 100% processor kernal usage.
I'd say your's is doing pretty darn good to run all of that and maintain even a 10% level.Must have a pretty decent system.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2001
Messages
1,742
My favorite home system that I use ALL the time is:

AMD 1.4G ATHLON “THUNDERBIRD” 266 cpu (kinda outdated)
ThermalTake Crystal ORB fan/heatsink (not stock)
Asus A7M266 mobo (outdated)
1x512MB PURE MicronDDR CAS2 RAM(PC2100)
2x40G IBM hdds setup in RAID0
1x46G IBM hdd as backup,storage
LiteOn 16x/48x DVD
LiteOn 40x12x48 CDRW (outdated)
Mitsumi floppy
Enlight Mid-Tower case w/frt.80mm case fan
StarTech 461w Dual Fan Power Supply (Will support 10 drives)
Adaptec 1200 SCSI/Controller card (for RAID) setup)
Realtec 2 port add-in USB card
Belkin Self-Powered 4 port USB Hub
Diamond External 56k v/f/etc. modem hooks into serial port
Guillemot/MUSE MAXI SOUND sound card (prefer over Creative SoundBlaster line)
Radeon 7000 64MB DDR video card ( temp.- testing because it appeared defective) video cards vary from time to time
HP 990cse printer USB
HP 5200C scanner USB
Canon A50 Digital Camera USB
Digi-CamII Digital Camera USB
Sony TRV33 Digital Camcorder USB/Firewire Going to switch from USB to Firewire
Compact Flash Card Reader USB
Altec Lansing 300?? 2 speakers with subwoofer ( great sound for only 3 spkrs.)
CyberPower UPS Hooks into serial port
MS Internet Keyboard USB
MS Intellimouse Optical USB running USB/PS2 adapter
19” AOC TotalFlat Monitor at 1152x864 (Standard) large fonts with Refresh rate @100MHz
36 Processes running in background right now, CPU usage/w 20 internet pages open, WORD open, Outlook(e-mail) open- only 1-2% !
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top