1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

is not recognized as an internal or external command

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Summerbear5, Jun 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Summerbear5

    Summerbear5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    I just reformatted my computer...it's perfectly clean and fully updated. There is only one user on this computer and it's mine and it's administrator.

    I opened up command prompt attempting to use it but no matter what command I enter it says "is not recognized and as internal or external command" I've tried running command prompt as an administrator...same message. Tried safe mode...same message. Someone said something to me about enviroment varaibles...there was nothing wrong with them...same message...

    I remember in the past I had this same problem and fixed it somehow but I don't remember how. I've searched all over google and cannot find anything that will help me. Does anyone know how to fix this?

    I have Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit service pack 2
    Model: HP Pavillion m9200t
    Any other information needed let me know.

    Summer
     
  2. allheart55

    allheart55

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,284
    This may be the resolution you spoke of....

    Go to Computer-> right click-> Properties->Advanced->Environment
    Variables->System variables and locate “PATH”. Add C:\windows\system32 at the
    end if it is not already there.
     
  3. Summerbear5

    Summerbear5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    The C:\windows\system32 is at the beginning instead of the end...is that the problem? Does it need to be at the end? Would it be messed up if I had it in the beginning AND the end?

    Since it's already in there and I'm still getting the error message is this the problem? Could it be something else? Also if I type "cd" (without quotes) infront of the command line...it works! I have been using that temporarly but feel I shouldn't have too...and wish it was fixed...

    Thanks for responding hope to get this fixed.

    Summer
     
  4. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    What are the exact commands you are typing that are giving you the error?
    Better yet:
    Open a Command Prompt
    Type a couple of the commands you've been trying.
    Right click in the window, click Select All.
    This will highlight everything.
    Press Enter, this copies it to the clipboard.
    Comeback to this thread, click in the Reply window, press CTRL+V to paste the text.

    It could be something as simple as as a misplaced quote or space.
     
  5. Summerbear5

    Summerbear5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    I'm trying anything and everything

    Even doing something as simple as C:\ Gives the error. Will paste what is going on in my command prompt when I get back on the main computer that is doing it.
     
  6. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    C:\ will give an error as it's not a command. Try just C:
    CD\ and DIR are two other internal commands that don't rely on the path being set correctly, those should work. Try those if you haven't already.
    If they also give an error, you might not be opening the real cmd.exe, but a fake one designed just to display an error.

    If you are opening the prompt by typing cmd into the Run box, try typing %COMSPEC% or %systemroot%\system32\cmd.exe instead, see if it makes a difference.
     
  7. Summerbear5

    Summerbear5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    I've tried going to msconfig and tools and ran the cmd from there. I've tried writing in code like %userprofile%\appdata\local\ and still same error message.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/927315