1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is Remote Desktop Protocol the same as Terminal Session??

Discussion in 'Networking' started by scooby_steve, Jul 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. scooby_steve

    scooby_steve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Hi All,

    Just wondering if RDP is the same thing as Terminal Session?

    I'm want to know because i havent seen RDP link you back to locally attached printers or shared drives.

    Any help would be great. thanks.

    Regards
    Steve
     
  2. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
  3. scooby_steve

    scooby_steve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Hi,

    Just wondering would i need to have TS CALs to be able to use WinXP Pro to RDP to Win 2003 Server?
     
  4. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    No you would not.
     
  5. scooby_steve

    scooby_steve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Is this because of Microsoft Equivelancy program which stated that if you owned a copy of W2K Pro and you were connecting to W2K Server then you would not need to buy TS CAL. I thougth MS stopped this when someone implemented 2003 Server?

    So, ie, owning a copy of WinXP Pro automatically gives you a license and the only time you need to have TS CALs is when connecting from a workstation running W2K Pro? Please correct me if i'm wrong.

    Thanks again
     
  6. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,069
    First Name:
    Bruce
    You do not need Cals just for connecting remotely for administration purposes. If you were using the TS server for users to connect and use applications, then Cals would come into play. You would typically buy them in block according to how many users that were going to be using the Terminal Server (Remote Desktop)
     
  7. scooby_steve

    scooby_steve Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    thanks...

    Now i'm a little confused... If i log onto 2003 server via RDP and run a program, say MS Word installed on the server, wouldnt that be loading an application??
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/596722

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice