1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is someone else on my wireless network?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ashegam, Jul 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ashegam

    ashegam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    The past few days my wireless internet has come to a crawl. I usually have a 3.5MB speed at speedtest.net but it's been around 1 to 1.5mb the past week. I'm wondering if someone else is using my wireless or not. How do I go by finding this out?

    I have a linksys E1000 and I have the log activated but not sure what to look for. The log has 4 reports.. incoming, outgoing, security and DHCP log.

    I also know how to run cmd and configall /all but not sure what to look for to compare with the log.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,189
    Do you have any sort of wireless security set up or is it wide open for anyone to connect to?
     
  3. ashegam

    ashegam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    I thought I did. I have changed the default user name and have a password. Other then that I don't recall changing any of my routers settings.
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Not sure if the E1000 comes unsecured... check the wireless security settings
     
  5. ashegam

    ashegam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    it's on wpa2 personal and has the pass phrase enabled.
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    who is your internet provider and where are you located (country)
     
  7. ashegam

    ashegam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    RCN in IL
     
  8. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    Try speed tests at Seattle, WA, Los Angeles, CA, and Atlanta, GA servers.

    How much are you meant to be getting?
     
  9. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,852
    Under Status, Local Network, check the DHCP Client list. Will show the devices that have been issued an IP by the router. Lists the IP address issued, MAC number of the device, Client Name, how connected.

    Open the cmd prompt and run a tracert and post the results.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    tracert yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.

    Looking for large variations in times or losses for each step.
     
  10. ashegam

    ashegam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    My computer was the only one listed under the DHCP client list. Also this slow down happens at night around 8-11pm etc...
    I should be getting 5mb DL speeds but that's through landline. When I hooked up my wireless it went down to 3.5MB max but now lately at night it drops to 1mb-2mb max. Is it just due to normal higher traffic since I'm on cable and everyone shares it? ( share meaning not dsl and dedicated line etc.. not that there is someone free loading off my wireless).


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    >tracert yahoo.com

    Tracing route to yahoo.com [209.191.122.70]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 * 1 ms 2 ms XXXXXX [192.168.1.1]
    2 17 ms 9 ms 7 ms bdl1.hnc-ubr1.chi-hnc.il.cable.rcn.net [10.20.16.1]
    3 31 ms 28 ms 30 ms mart-h1.chi-mart.il.cable.rcn.net [207.229.191.130]
    4 32 ms 29 ms 49 ms tge2-4.border2.eqnx.il.rcn.net [207.172.15.212]

    5 32 ms 32 ms 32 ms pat2.che.yahoo.net [206.223.119.17]
    6 67 ms 55 ms 66 ms as-3.pat2.da3.yahoo.com [216.115.96.100]
    7 52 ms 55 ms 59 ms ae-1-d131.msr2.mud.yahoo.com [216.115.104.87]
    8 44 ms 63 ms 55 ms te-7-2.fab1-a-gdc.mud.yahoo.com [209.191.78.147]

    9 66 ms 67 ms * te-9-2.bas-c1.mud.yahoo.com [209.191.78.169]
    10 61 ms 67 ms * ir1.fp.vip.mud.yahoo.com [209.191.122.70]
    11 66 ms 36 ms 39 ms ir1.fp.vip.mud.yahoo.com [209.191.122.70]

    Trace complete.
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    30,995
    I would suspect the cable internet company, especially at that timeframe. If they haven't gone to Docsis 3 system yet, which will provide a ton of bandwidth, then they may have simply oversold in your area and there is too many people on at 1 time... or they are throttling you.

    Traceroute is fine. If your wireless is secure, and it seems to be, then no-one should be connecting to your wireless connection.

    One thing you can do is when it happens again, go directly from your computer to the modem and see if you get the same results. If you do then most likely it's the internet provider.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1008051