1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is there a way to Change Language in Windows XP Home

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by sergiohon, Aug 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sergiohon

    sergiohon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Does somebody knows how to put Windows XP Home to English. I know that in XP Pro is possible.
    If not possiblein XP Home, how then can I have Windows XP help in English. My computer has the program in German, everything else uploaded by me is in English
     
  2. D_Trojanator

    D_Trojanator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,699
  3. sergiohon

    sergiohon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for the quick reply. I must say however that I've already tried the microsoft site, to no avil. Any other suggestion?
     
  4. Augie65

    Augie65

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052
    Here are directions to change language in windows xp.
     
  5. sergiohon

    sergiohon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you again, but it's not what I'm looking for. In Germany, where I live now, I bought a laptop bundled with Windows XP Home. I haven't found a way to put all commands, bars, help, etc. of the XP program back into English; everything is in German, the updates are also made in German, etc. Your suggestion works only for new software I install in the computer and in SOME IE cases, but all in all, the computer is displaying everything else in German. I Know that XP Pro has the feature to change it all into several languages (it comes with some CDs for that), but again, There exist the same possibility in XP Home? If so, How?
     
  6. D_Trojanator

    D_Trojanator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,699
    I think that you will have to buy an English OS, but i am not sure
    David
     
  7. sergiohon

    sergiohon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks David. I was thinking that maybe there was a way to tweak something in "language" or "multilanguage" features, like XP pro and,I think W2000.
    Sergio
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/387702

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice