Is there a way to force memory resident program to close when exiting Windows?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Mulderator

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 20, 1999
Messages
51,022
I have a couple programs that Windows can't close when it exits (Win XP). So when I exit, I have to manually click the popup Window that asks to close the program without saving it or cancel. Is there a way to have Windows do that by default for that particular program (or even for all programs) preferably after some period of time of not making a choice?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,521
I use X-Setup and select the option to automatically terminate hung applications.

Are you sure that programs aren't just timing out? There is a 20 second timeout for non-responsive applications at shutdown, then Windows terminates them.
 

Mulderator

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 20, 1999
Messages
51,022
JohnWill said:
I use X-Setup and select the option to automatically terminate hung applications.

Are you sure that programs aren't just timing out? There is a 20 second timeout for non-responsive applications at shutdown, then Windows terminates them.
What is X-Setup?

No--I wish it would time out--that's what I'm looking for--10 second timeout and then it automatically ends the program without having to hit the "End Now" button.
 

awalker0878

Removed by request
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
407
you could create a shortcut to a command shutdown on your desktop (right on desktop\new\shortcut):

name: Shutdown
location: shutdown -s -f -t 0

name: Restart
location: shutdown -r -f -t 0

name: Logoff
location: shutdown -l -f -t 0
 

Mulderator

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 20, 1999
Messages
51,022
awalker0878 said:
you could create a shortcut to a command shutdown on your desktop (right on desktop\new\shortcut):

name: Shutdown
location: shutdown -s -f -t 0

name: Restart
location: shutdown -r -f -t 0

name: Logoff
location: shutdown -l -f -t 0
I don't understand--is this a batch file you are talking about writing?
 

Squashman

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
Mulder said:
I don't understand--is this a batch file you are talking about writing?
Just make a shortcut on your desktop with the commands he posted. Or try using the PowerOff program I posted. It is free.
 

Mulderator

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 20, 1999
Messages
51,022
Squashman said:
Just make a shortcut on your desktop with the commands he posted. Or try using the PowerOff program I posted. It is free.
Well, that works but a little bit too dangerous--click that shortcut by accident when you're in the middle of doing something and you're screwed! ;)
 

Squashman

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
Change the shutdown -t value to a higher number. Then if you accidently do that you can cancel the shutdown. Or use the PowerOff program I posted. It is a little more customizeable.
 

Mulderator

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 20, 1999
Messages
51,022
Squashman said:
Change the shutdown -t value to a higher number. Then if you accidently do that you can cancel the shutdown. Or use the PowerOff program I posted. It is a little more customizeable.
Actually--I tried that on my laptop, but when I tried it on the desktop (the one that was having the problem) it is the same--asks me to confirm the closing of the programs.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Howdy folks...

You can try a global fix that works on all programs by changing the value of AutoEndTasks from 0 to 1 in
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop
 

bearone2

Banned
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
5,809
Mulder said:
I have a couple programs that Windows can't close when it exits (Win XP). So when I exit, I have to manually click the popup Window that asks to close the program without saving it or cancel. Is there a way to have Windows do that by default for that particular program (or even for all programs) preferably after some period of time of not making a choice?
what programs are running?:cool:
 

awalker0878

Removed by request
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
407
Jedi_Master said:
Howdy folks...

You can try a global fix that works on all programs by changing the value of AutoEndTasks from 0 to 1 in
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop
that was the reg fix included in the zip file
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top