1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is there a way to force memory resident program to close when exiting Windows?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Mulderator, Jan 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mulderator

    Mulderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    I have a couple programs that Windows can't close when it exits (Win XP). So when I exit, I have to manually click the popup Window that asks to close the program without saving it or cancel. Is there a way to have Windows do that by default for that particular program (or even for all programs) preferably after some period of time of not making a choice?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I use X-Setup and select the option to automatically terminate hung applications.

    Are you sure that programs aren't just timing out? There is a 20 second timeout for non-responsive applications at shutdown, then Windows terminates them.
     
  3. awalker0878

    awalker0878 Removed by request

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    407
    this reg tweak will autoend applications at shutdown maybe this will work
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Mulderator

    Mulderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    Tried that and it didn't work.
     
  5. Mulderator

    Mulderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    What is X-Setup?

    No--I wish it would time out--that's what I'm looking for--10 second timeout and then it automatically ends the program without having to hit the "End Now" button.
     
  6. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
  7. awalker0878

    awalker0878 Removed by request

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    407
    you could create a shortcut to a command shutdown on your desktop (right on desktop\new\shortcut):

    name: Shutdown
    location: shutdown -s -f -t 0

    name: Restart
    location: shutdown -r -f -t 0

    name: Logoff
    location: shutdown -l -f -t 0
     
  8. Mulderator

    Mulderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    I don't understand--is this a batch file you are talking about writing?
     
  9. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Just make a shortcut on your desktop with the commands he posted. Or try using the PowerOff program I posted. It is free.
     
  10. Mulderator

    Mulderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    Well, that works but a little bit too dangerous--click that shortcut by accident when you're in the middle of doing something and you're screwed! ;)
     
  11. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Change the shutdown -t value to a higher number. Then if you accidently do that you can cancel the shutdown. Or use the PowerOff program I posted. It is a little more customizeable.
     
  12. Mulderator

    Mulderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 1999
    Messages:
    51,022
    Actually--I tried that on my laptop, but when I tried it on the desktop (the one that was having the problem) it is the same--asks me to confirm the closing of the programs.
     
  13. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Howdy folks...

    You can try a global fix that works on all programs by changing the value of AutoEndTasks from 0 to 1 in
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop
     
  14. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    what programs are running?:cool:
     
  15. awalker0878

    awalker0878 Removed by request

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    407
    that was the reg fix included in the zip file
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/430327

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice