1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is there a way to track down an IP address?

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Alex Ethridge, Aug 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Apr 10, 2000
    I have received notices from two unrelated forums this week telling me that my account has been locked out because someone tried to log in using my user name with the wrong password five times in a row. Each one of the forums gave me an IP number for the would-be intruder: and

    It was not I who was attempting to log in as I have not visited either of these forums in several months.

    How far can one get in finding information on these numbers? And, how do I go about it if it's possible to get anything at all?
  2. Sponsor

  3. Elvandil


    Aug 1, 2003
    Tracert will bring you to the ISP. A court order will get you the ISP's logs so you can find out who was logged on with that IP at that particular time.

    3 1 - 44.483N, 72.722W
    4 2 - 44.489N, 73.222W
    5 3 1 Philadelphia ge-6-22-22.car2.philadelphia1.level3.net
    6 3 1 New York ae-6-6.ebr1.newyork1.level3.net
    7 3 1 New York ae-81-81.csw3.newyork1.level3.net
    8 3 1 New York ae-31-89.car1.newyork1.level3.net
    9 4 - New York
    10 - - Unknown No Response
    11 - - Unknown No Response
    12 5 2 New York dstswr2-ge3-16.rh.nbrgnj.cv.net
    13 5 3 New York ool-4353f6c9.dyn.optonline.net
    14 6 3 New York ool-4352fb9a.dyn.optonline.net

    Name: ool-4352fb9a.dyn.optonline.net
    IP Address:
    Location: New York (40.794N, 74.028W)
    Network: Unknown

    CSC Holdings, Inc
    1111 Stewart Avenue
    Bethpage, NY 11714-3533

    Domain Name: OPTONLINE.NET

    Administrative Contact:
    Administrator, eMedia [email protected]
    CSC Holdings, Inc.
    1111 Stewart Avenue
    Bethpage, NY 11714-3533
    516.803.4259 fax: 516-803-1186

    3 1 - 44.483N, 72.722W
    4 2 - 44.489N, 73.222W
    5 3 1 44.489N, 73.222W ge-6-22-12.car1.philadelphia1.level3.net
    6 3 1 WASHINGTON D.C. ae-7-7.ebr2.washington1.level3.net
    7 3 1 WASHINGTON D.C. ae-92-92.csw4.washington1.level3.net
    8 3 1 WASHINGTON D.C. ae-91-91.ebr1.washington1.level3.net
    9 3 1 Atlanta ae-2.ebr3.atlanta2.level3.net
    10 3 1 Dallas ae-7.ebr2.dallas1.level3.net
    11 - - Unknown No Response
    12 - - Unknown No Response
    13 4 2 Unknown te9-2.dsr02.dllstx3.theplanet.com
    14 4 2 Unknown 7e.fd.5746.static.theplanet.com
    15 5 2 Dallas po1.car06.dllstx6.theplanet.com
    16 6 2 Dallas 22.f3.354a.static.theplanet.com

    Name: 22.f3.354a.static.theplanet.com
    IP Address:
    Location: Dallas (32.789N, 96.800W)

    OrgName: ThePlanet.com Internet Services, Inc.
    OrgID: TPCM
    Address: 1333 North Stemmons Freeway
    Address: Suite 110
    City: Dallas
    StateProv: TX
    PostalCode: 75207
    Country: US
  4. hewee


    Oct 26, 2001
  5. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Dec 9, 2004
    I'd be less concerned about tracking the person down (to what end?) than I would be about the quality and security of my passwords.
  6. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

    Apr 10, 2000
    Less concerned, maybe, but not unconcerned.

    "to what end?" Curiosity, if nothing else.
  7. Benny Bumble

    Benny Bumble

    Jul 28, 2006
    I agree with Helix. I don't know how useful it would be. I checked out my own ip addr. & it came up close, but not even good enuf for horseshoes!
  8. rubricscubed


    Aug 14, 2007
    Curious. I was notified on 6 Aug 2007 that that same IP had been used for multiple attempts to access my account on an unrelated message board, resulting in a temporary "lock out". No skin off my fingers since I haven't visited that site since registering on a whim.

    I discovered this techguy topic while Googling for the IP. I've alerted the administrator of the forum that the little hacker is alive and well. Doubt they'll do anything. If there's such a thing as Karma, just living in New Jersey should kill him or at least give him a seriously painful rash. :D
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/607169