1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is there an alternative to Windows 8

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by exactrans, Jan 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. exactrans

exactrans Thread Starter

I am a former IBM programmer, coder, worked with Assembler, Cobal, SAS, Basic....MVS Mainframes ...and with Windows XP...all my systems are now what you call "legacy" systems....I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS WINDOWS 8....PLEASE TELL ME THAT MY XP PLATFORM...WILL NOT EVER GO AWAY.. I hate these tiles...I do not give a damn about pictures and music...and am an application programmer (not an APP) programmer...This cloud concept is really scary...it is in fact manipulation and control at a higher level...I know I am still in the 80-90's but I do not want to deal with these tiles and push buttons..I am not and END USER....(do I really need to hoard all the windows xp refurbished computers????) ...Is there any other alternative...i.e...like turning off the multi-layered user interface of windows 8 by a button of some type and let me get back to the navigation and manipulation that I know??? Do I need to learn Linux System...

Thanks

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    Read through Taming the Windows 8 DESKTOP GUI and install a third party Start Menu or configure it along the lines of how I have mine set up.

Rather than hoard XP systems I would find and hoard Windows 7 systems (there should still be some new ones available). Yes, you'll complain that Windows 7 is different from XP, but once you get used to it you'll see that most (not all!) the differences are for the better.