1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is there Realy a Problem with running Real Player?

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by Cousin49, Sep 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cousin49

Cousin49 Thread Starter

Can anyone tell me if there is really, really a problem with running Real Player? I am a novice at using the Net , but have heard it can muck your computer up - and tries to connect you to the Web when you are not on it.

I am really interested in listening to Audio material from programmes on the BBC - being a bit traditional. I am worried that if I download Real Player - which appeals to me as its for free - it will jam up my computer.

Also would my PC specifications be up to the job - given that I don't really mind if it can't play video clips. I am running on a Pentium 11 333 processor, using Windows 98; 64Mb Ram; 3.2Gb HDD; with 4Mb Graphics Chip and 56k V92 modem. I have noted that when dissengaging from the Net the Information 'window' shows the time I have been on the Net and also the speed of the connexion - which is given as 28.800bps. I have been reading up a bit on this, and understand that this is 'bits per second' - though I can't see why the Modem Speed is given in terms of Bytes; at 56k. Anyway, would these specifications do the job? Please bare in mind that I am have limited funds, hence I am quite pleased with the ability of my equipment to give me access to the Internet in any way! And I have only been using the Web for a few months - via Dial Up - through Freedom2Surf ISP.