1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is this even possible?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Daenaeryas, Mar 16, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Daenaeryas

Daenaeryas Thread Starter

Hi,

First of all, im not that good with hardware but i wanted to buy a new computer from scratch. because i do like to learn from it :p

I looked for some components and found these:

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X99-Gaming G1 WIFI
    Videocard: MSI GeForce GTX 970 GAMING 4G
    Processor: Intel Core i7-5820K Boxed
    SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
    Intern memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK8GX4M2A2400C14

The videocard has a PCI-e 3.0 x 16 card interface, so it should be able to connect to the motherboard.
    also the processor needs a 2011-3 socket that the motherboard has.

But i dont know if there are any more problems or maybe you see other reasons that is couldnt work. i would like to know that before i spend so much money on it :p

2. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    PCI-Express is forward and backward compatible for the revision so while its good to match them up and to get as much bandwidth as possible for high-end graphics cards you could technically use a motherboard/processor that only supports PCI-Express 2.0 - this is just for reference as all current motherboards support PCI-Express when paired with a processor that also supports it. The motherboard does need to have a physical PCI-Express x16 wide though and pretty much all do except for some mini board.

The socket for the CPU is important and matches, the BIOS also has to support the CPU which it should on that board right out of the box.