1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is this hardware realted?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rusking, Nov 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rusking

rusking Thread Starter

I have about 14 years of computer experience but i have never seen this. My HP need some partitions resize and such so i went to install just Vista on my only hookedup hdd. 111GB is use to have XP Pro and Vista. Anyways if freezes or takes a very long time todo anything in any setup I mean like 2 hours to click next and another menu come up. Some times it just becomes unresponsive. I switch hard drives, CDs and cdroms. What can this be? CPU? RAM? how can i test? Im soo lost

2. rusking

rusking Thread Starter

(in vista install) I do notice that i can alt F4 to end setup if i want and use the mouse. Both respond with a promt to close setup like its responding ok but the setup doesnt move and im still at the preinstall stages

(in xp pro install) THe system stops responding at the end of the preinstall. Right befor you choose partirions to install to. The last driver/protocal/etc to run is Setup is starting windows. Then a freez on that screen. Note i install from bootable cds. What going on?

3. Elvandil

Elvandil

Test the memory?

Microsoft Memory Test (floppy or CD ISO image)
    Memtest86

Are the drives OK in BIOS with DMA enabled?

How are you starting the setup? If from DOS, and you don't have smartdrv activated, there is no disk cache and it will take forever.

4. rusking

rusking Thread Starter

I am in the process of testing the memory with the application you suggested. I did however test the memory with the vista mem diag tool. It gave me that option at boot with my dual os's. That menu is gone now and the hardrive is blank.