1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is this realistic? Need advice please

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by webnewb, Oct 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. webnewb

webnewb Thread Starter

Hello all,

I have a question for all of you, web experts here; I am volunteering right now in a non-profit local group in Montreal. They do have a very old and awful looking web site that would need a complete overhaul (it looks pathetic, the links don’t work etc.). The original designer of the site is long gone and I would like to volunteer for revamping their site. However I have no experience in web design or creation. I am a programmer by trade, but for midrange and ERP systems. I do have a (very) basic knowledge of HTML, but I’m fairly at ease with SQL, C and C++, although I’m not sure the last two are that relevant.

So that being said, is it realistic for me to tackle a project like this? Are there enough informational content out there to get answers for my questions when the need arises? The basic idea would be to start of with something like Microsoft FrontPage or Dream Weaver. Which one would you recommend for a beginner? The web site itself I feel would be fairly straightforward. It would be a basic informational site with little or no transactional processes.

I would very much like to hear your opinions, before I commit myself I’d like to be reasonably sure that I can deliver.

Thanks in advance,

2. colinsp

colinsp

First Name:
    Colin
    Forget about Frontpage

Dreamweaver is excellent but expensive and takes a bit of learning.

Microsoft's Expression Web is supposed to be good BUT I have no experience of it.

Komposer is a free wysiwyg editor.

Create in a straight forward text editor like Notepad++.