1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is this typical virus behaviour???

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by pal, Oct 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pal

    pal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    My main family use computer is a dual boot system (Win XP / Ubuntu). We are slowly escaping the Windows virus trap... :)

    Anyway, in XP I found all my GUI inputs getting messed about. 1st thing was I couldn't open an e-mail account in Thunderbird. I have several accounts all loaded into the program, but whenever I clicked on an account to use it, the entire account closed as if the "-" button had been clicked. Even clicking the "+" symbol to open the account did nothing. After only a few clicks every e-mail account had closed and I couldn't get to any of them.

    Then, I went to Firefox to search if a virus could do this. I typed Symantic into the search box, and Google came up with a list of hits on the term "citnamys" - my search key had been reversed.

    By now I was certain I had a virus, so I shut down and rebooted into safe mode and did an AVG command line scan on the entire system. AVG reported lots of files locked, but no virus found. Then I rebooted again, this time into safe mode with networking so I could go to Symantic site and do a virus scan from there. Again, nothing was found.

    So, I rebooted normally, and everything seems to be working normally again - but I'm not quite confident that there isn't a virus hiding waiting to strike once I get too comfortable. We can still use the machine in Ubuntu, and from there can access the XP partition...

    Am I being paranoid, or is there a real chance I may still have a dormant virus waiting to strike? Is there some other scan that anyone would recommend to find any virus capable of this behaviour?

    Thanks in anticipation,

    Pal
     
  2. pal

    pal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Please?...
     
  3. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,253
    First Name:
    Derek
  4. pal

    pal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks for your reply.. :)


    I have copied, and attached the files requested - but suspect I might have mucked it up. I ran the app in safe mode. Is that OK, or should I do it again in normal mode? Wasn't confident to just boot into xp...

    Thanks again...
     

    Attached Files:

  5. pal

    pal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    ...and the other file
     

    Attached Files:

  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,253
    First Name:
    Derek
    there is at least one suspicious item in teh logs but running it in safe mode hasn't shown me what else mighnt be running as safe mode automatically stops them loading

    RUN THIS IN NORMAL MODE NOT SAFE MODE OR IT WON'T WORK

    Delete any existing version of ComboFix you have sitting on your desktop
    Please read and follow all these instructions very carefully

    Download ComboFix from Here to your Desktop.

    **Note: It is important that it is saved directly to your desktop and run from the desktop and not any other folder on your computer**
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    1. Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix.

    • Very Important! Temporarily disable your anti-virus and anti-malware real-time protection and any script blocking components of them or your firewall before performing a scan. They can interfere with ComboFix or remove some of its embedded files which may cause "unpredictable results" or stop combofix running at all
    • Click on THIS LINK to see instructions on how to temporarily disable many security programs while running combofix. The list does not cover every program. If yours is not listed and you don't know how to disable it, please ask.
    • Remember to re enable the protection again after combofix has finished
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    2. Close any open browsers and any other programs you might have running
    Double click on combofix.exe & follow the prompts.​
    If you are using windows XP It might display a pop up saying that "Recovery console is not installed, do you want to install?"
    Please select yes & let it download the files it needs to do this
    When finished, it will produce a report for you.
    Please post the "C:\ComboFix.txt" along with a new HijackThis log for further review


    ****Note: Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it's running. That may cause it to stall or freeze ****

    Note: ComboFix may reset a number of Internet Explorer's settings, including making it the default browser.
    Note: Combofix prevents autorun of ALL CDs, floppies and USB devices to assist with malware removal & increase security. If this is an issue or makes it difficult for you -- please tell us when you reply. Read HERE why we disable autoruns

    Please do not install any new programs or update anything unless told to do so while we are fixing your problem.
     
  7. pal

    pal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    OK. I've run DDS again in normal mode, and after that, ran combofix.

    All the log files are attached. Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,253
    First Name:
    Derek
    Combofix fixed a couple of minor items and what we thought was a possible malware was just a left over registry entry and CF fixed taht

    I can see no obvious signs of any malware there now

    *Follow these steps to uninstall Combofix and the other tools it downloaded to remove the malware*
    * Click START then RUN
    * Now type Combofix /u in the runbox and click OK. Note the space between the X and the /U, it needs to be there.
    [​IMG]

    This will also purge the restore folder and clear any malware that has been put in there. Now Empty Recycle bin on desktop Then reboot.

    go here http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/index.php?page=3 for info on how to tighten your security settings and how to help prevent future attacks.

    and scan here http://secunia.com/software_inspector/ for out of date & vulnerable common applications on your computer and update whatever it suggests

    Then pay an urgent visit to windows update & make sure you are fully updated, that will help to plug the security holes that let these pests on in the first place
     
  9. pal

    pal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks for your help.

    I am still a little anxious that there was no "smoking gun" found - but as all the scans are coming back clean, I guess I'll cross my fingers and take a deep breath...

    Thanks again,

    Pal
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/866898

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice