1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Is XP tower covertible to Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by kenneth7379, Jan 29, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kenneth7379

    kenneth7379 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    First Name:
    Ken
    I have a couple of older XP computers, and wondered if it's possible to buy a Windows 7 program and load it onto one of the older towers. Thank you for your advice

    Here are the specs for one of the older towers

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel Pentium III Xeon processor, x86 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3293 Mb
    Graphics Card:
    Hard Drives: C: 465 GB (448 GB Free);
    Motherboard: MSI, G41M-P23 (MS-7592)
    Antivirus: Avast Antivirus, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    64,624
    First Name:
    Chuck
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,907
    First Name:
    Frank
    Your Windows XP computer appears to have an Intel Core 2 Duo processor, but it's unknown what its model number and speed is.
    Can you advise us what it is?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. kenneth7379

    kenneth7379 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    First Name:
    Ken
    I don't know how I'd obtain that information. I looked in the Computer files and didn't see anything that looked like what you're asking about. I'm way out of my depth on this. Maybe I should just forget this and turn it over to someone local more qualified. Thanks anyway.
     
  5. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,522
    First Name:
    Liz
    Towers have a label with the MS Serial # and a manufacturers label with the model number. The labels might be on the side, on the bottom or inside the case.

    I'd advise you to get rid of Avast!
    https://bgr.com/2020/01/28/avast-selling-user-data-privacy-scandal/

    Even though they supposedly shut down something, this is the 2nd time in less than a month that they were caught doing something pertaining to users' privacy.
     
  6. kenneth7379

    kenneth7379 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    First Name:
    Ken
    That article's an eye-opener. Thanks, plodr. I'm getting ready to nuke Avast from my computer. I am also running Malwarebytes. Is that sufficient, or is there another free anti-virus you can recommend? By the way, this is a Windows 7 computer which I think has a built-in system called Defender, which I have disabled. Would that be appropriate for me?

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 8080 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, -1988 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 224 GB (179 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 1495
    Antivirus: Malwarebytes, Enabled and Updated
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,907
    First Name:
    Frank
    You used an old version(1.0.0.4) of the SysInfo.exe tool to product your log, so please do the following with the current version(1.0.0.9) of the SysInfo.exe tool:

    Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe) file.
    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
    Information about your computer will appear.
    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. kenneth7379

    kenneth7379 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    First Name:
    Ken
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit, Build 7601, Installed 20120529081952.000000-420
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7, CPU Count: 4
    Total Physical RAM: 8 GB
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics
    Hard Drives: C: 224 GB (180 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 1495, s/n 2UA2310V4Z
    System: Hewlett-Packard, ver HPQOEM - 1072009, s/n 2UA2310V4Z
    Antivirus: Avira Antivirus, Enabled and Updated
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,907
    First Name:
    Frank
    According to your new log, you have a HP Compaq 8200 Elite Small Form Factor PC which was purchased in August 2012.
    It was built and Windows 7 Pro SP1 64-bit was installed in it in May 2012 - about 3 months before you purchased it.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. kenneth7379

    kenneth7379 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    First Name:
    Ken
    I bought the computer as a refurbished from Newegg just under one year ago. It was a recommendation here that pointed me toward dealing with them.
     
  11. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,522
    First Name:
    Liz
    Windows 7 Windows Defender not to be confused with the program of the same name on Windows 8/8.1 and perhaps 10, is not good.
    The versions on 8/8.1 and 10 are very good.
    Windows 7, offered MS Security Essentials (which is called Windows Defender on 8/8.1 and 10). I'm not sure if it is still available for download.
    Looks like they have pulled it so you can no longer download it.
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/17150/windows-7-what-is-microsoft-security-essentials
     
  12. kenneth7379

    kenneth7379 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    First Name:
    Ken
    Yes, I've had Microsoft Security Essentials before and found it okay. I can't even remember when or why I changed it to AVG and then to Avast. I just checked and Microsoft S.E. is no longer available. I found something this morning that looked worth-while, so I just downloaded Avira. It seems to get good reviews so hope it's okay.
     
  13. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,907
    First Name:
    Frank
    plodr likes this.
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1239472

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice