ISP and changing settings

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mtzlplex

Thread Starter
Account Closed
Joined
Aug 5, 2002
Messages
1,650
Good day to everyone. I`m looking into an ISP which requires no software, but requires you to create a new dial up networking connection, and change a lot of settings TCP/IP, and others manually, and also to make it the default. At present time, I am using Compuserve2000, and would like to keep it active on my machine while I evaluate this new ISP. This is an area I am not familiar with, thus my visit to this forum. Any help/guidance in this matter will be much appreciated.

Regards
Mike Peters
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
1,071
Hey Mike321,
What operating system do you have on your machine?
I will be able to give you a step by step if i konw.
Thanks,
Michael
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
hi mike
go into the control panel/internet options/connections
click on setup
and setup your new connection
then when you go to connect to the internet your connection box will give you the option to choose either connection
 

mtzlplex

Thread Starter
Account Closed
Joined
Aug 5, 2002
Messages
1,650
Hi michael jii, thanks for your interest in my question. I am running windows 98se.

Thanks
Mike
 

mtzlplex

Thread Starter
Account Closed
Joined
Aug 5, 2002
Messages
1,650
Hi dai, thanks for the reply, and the info, I will give it a try.

Regards
Mike Peters
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
as for your other query when the isp's here were giving a months free trial i had about four on at once
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
1,071
ok, pretty much follow dai's instructions, but i dont think you need to make it a default account.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
1,071
in the wizard click connect to the internet, then set up connection manually. and follow the wizard until it will attempt to connect.
 

mtzlplex

Thread Starter
Account Closed
Joined
Aug 5, 2002
Messages
1,650
Hey michael jii, thanks for the reply and info I need, much appreciated.

Regards
Mike Peters
 

mtzlplex

Thread Starter
Account Closed
Joined
Aug 5, 2002
Messages
1,650
Hey michael_jii, how`s it going? Haven`t gotten into doing the ISP thing as of yet, I have a second comp that is in need of a hd, and OS, and I think I will get that thing going first in case I need it to get back to this forum in case I have problems with the ISP thing. It never hurts to have a backup. Thanks for your time and thoughts.

Regards
Mike Peters
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top