1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ISPs with no timeout period...

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Holly3278, Feb 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Holly3278

    Holly3278 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,393
    Hi everyone. I live in Southern Indiana and I am looking for an ISP that has no timeout period. I ask because I often leave my computer online for extended periods of time due to the fact that I sometimes download large files like after I format the computer and need to download all of the critical updates, norton updates, game updates, etc etc etc. Anyway, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Some websites that list ISPs would be nice too but I already know of some websites that list ISPs. Preferably an ISP $15.00 or less is what I am looking for.
     
  2. myvicisslow

    myvicisslow

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    110
  3. Holly3278

    Holly3278 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,393
    No, I haven't checked that website out. I am not looking for dsl as it is not available in my area. I am only looking for dialup that has a fairly extended period of time until it drops the connection regardless of whether or not the modem is sending/receiving data.
     
  4. sekirt

    sekirt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,998
  5. driver_uk2001

    driver_uk2001

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    526
    hi there. have u tried AOL dial up? i was using their free trial and they did not ping out at all on me. most ISP's disconenct u after 60 mins or so, but aol did not disconnect me at all and i had my machine on for a long period of time. It not already tried it give it a try it may be wat ur looking for
     
  6. Maggz

    Maggz

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    582
    Yea AOL only loads up your Memory with absolutely useless tasks and slows everything down. I TOTALLY reccomend AOL yeah
    </sarcasm>

    :D
     
  7. driver_uk2001

    driver_uk2001

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    526
    yea it might do that but u can easily sort that problem. now i had AOL in and my comp ran fine. but holly suppose there is no harm in giving a try
     
  8. Holly3278

    Holly3278 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,393
    Well, here is a response for you all. I do have AOL. However, it is my Grandpa's account and I only get on it occassionally at my apartment because he cannot get online at the same time as I do. I usually get his permission to get on my screen name before I do any extensive downloading. AOL has never timed out on me. Unfortunately, I cannot afford the high price of AOL. I can only afford $15 or less. As for all the extra memory hogging features that AOL loads, I make full use of just about all of them so those don't bother me. ;) Plus, I have plenty of memory. 512 megabytes worth and considering upgrading to 1,024 megs although I don't think I really need it. I actually love AOL except for their not so great technical support technicians. There have been times when I had a technical support technician that didn't even know what RAM was and that was after I had pronounced it multiple times to assure that he understood me.

    As for the programs that prevent timing out, I have Norton SystemWorks 2003 which uses Connection Keep Alive which is supposed to keep your connection from timing out. Unfortunately, it does not work with my ISP which is Juno Platinum. I even set the Keep Alive level under the options to High and it still did not work. I would be willing to try other timeout prevention programs but I only use programs that are spyware free. Adware is ok as long as it does not use intrusive popup ads. Sorry if I'm too picky but that's just the way I am. :) Well, I look forward to future responses!
     
  9. sekirt

    sekirt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,998
    ISPs Nightmare is spyware free, according to what they say.

    You can search www.Google.com and find more such programs, might even find one specifically aimed at Juno.

    Juno is owned by Net Zero...I know Net Zero has tech support. I use the free version of Net Zero sometimes, which is only 10 hrs per month. I haven't noticed any time out? How long does it have to be running to normally time out?

    sekirt
     
  10. Holly3278

    Holly3278 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,393
    Thank you seskirt. I might check out that program if I get the time. I have an extremely jam packed schedule right now though! lol!
     
  11. buckaroo

    buckaroo

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2001
    Messages:
    3,334
    I used these guys:

    http://www.peoplepc.com/

    Never had any problem whatsoever, less than $15/month and if you pay for a year up front, it's $10/month. Wholeheartedly recommended. I'm no longer on dialup, otherwise I'd still be using them.

    :)
     
  12. NiteHawk

    NiteHawk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,699
    Your fully qualified AOL tech support rep.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Maggz

    Maggz

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    582
    I hear their awesome. Good price good quality. (y)
     
  14. buckaroo

    buckaroo

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2001
    Messages:
    3,334
    Yes (y)

    Also forgot to mention they had a bunch of local access numbers. Somewhere along the line EarthLink bought them so I believe they share access numbers.

    :)
     
  15. Holly3278

    Holly3278 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,393
    I was going to try People PC but when I called them to ask about the timeout period they told me that yes, they do have a timeout period so I won't be trying them.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - ISPs timeout period
  1. rafibrahim
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    154
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/205647

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice