1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

It's all just desperately embarrassing really !

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by melchizedek, Sep 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. melchizedek

melchizedek Thread Starter

I'm a total noob to linux...so much so in fact that although I've had computers for over 20 years, I'm beginning to wonder whether I know anything at all.

Anyway...my problem (apart from my near exhausted mental state). Am trying to install my speedtouch USB modem. Have looked up all the necessary threads on how to do it, downloaded all the necessary files etc...no probs there.

So I have to copy the mgmt.o file to usr/share/speedtouch...well I looked around and found this file to download. So all I have to do is copy it to the usr/share/speedtouch folder right ????

I double click the floppy icon......as I downloaded the file from windows (as my linux internet connection is not working till I install the modem), and copied it to a floppy. Its there...no problems. So where do I copy it to ? I looked for a linux version of Windows explore, in order to track down the usr/share/speedtouch folder...couldn't really find one, but think that the nautilus file manager thingy will do the trick. So I find the right folder.....find out fairly instantly that you can't drag and drop in linux...OK...so, I'll just copy the file and paste it into the open nautilus window. Copy works fine. But when I right click in nautilus to paste the file in the desired folder, there is no paste option highlighted.

How on earth do I copy files over in linus. I'm looking for something like a windows explorer program that shows every file in my linux partitions, so I can find what I'm looking for and move stuff about.

Does this exist...or is there an alternative.