1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

itunes question

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by fevola25, Nov 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fevola25

fevola25 Thread Starter

Hi, I have just purchaced an ipod touch for my son so Im new to itunes, and I dont think I like it.

I installed itunes and it searched and transfered all my songs to itunes, but instead of keeping them all neat and tidy in the folders I had them in, it has put them all together in one list, is there a way I can have them all organised in itunes the same way I have them in 'my music'?

2. DoubleHelix

DoubleHelix Banned

If by "one list" you mean the iTunes Library, that's how iTunes works. You can sort songs by artist or album, but there are no "folders" in the iTunes Library.

3. fevola25

fevola25 Thread Starter

Aside from my album folders, I had a lot of other folders with various mixed songs in them, Like one folder with top 50 music, one with Australian music, a 70's folder, 80's folder, 90's folder and so on, but itunes seems to organise them into individual folders, most which has 1 song in them.

I wanted to transfer all the songs in the top 50 folder onto his ipod for him, but have to sift through 25 thousand songs every time to find 1 song.

4. DarqueMist

DarqueMist

It sounds like the easiest way to get what you want in iTunes is to set up playlists and treat them like you would treat your folders in myMusic. Populate them by dragging and dropping (remember you are only moving pointers around in the iTunes library not the actual files), going to be a nuisance to set up but once they are maintaining them should be easy.

5. parasolution

parasolution