1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I've lost my XP disc

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by aimeelou, Jan 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aimeelou

    aimeelou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Hi everyone,

    I'm new to the site, but have been looking around and have already learned loads. Great place to be.

    I was all set to do a back-up when disaster struck. I can't find my original XP disc. :( So, can I create a back-up without the disc or would microsoft send me a replacement XP disc (yeah, right)- I did register it with the ms site.

    Oh, my OS is XP Home, service pack 2.

    I'm a bit of a dinosaur as far as the PC is concerned, so step-by-step advice would really be appreciated.

    Thanks.:D
     
  2. steven1350

    steven1350

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    862
    it depends on your computers origninal cd. If its an OEM version (came with your computer), you have to call your manufacturer to order another disc(or pay full price). If its not OEM, you can call microsoft.
     
  3. aimeelou

    aimeelou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    I don't think it's OEM. It didn't come ready installed and I had to pay extra for it.
     
  4. kniht

    kniht

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,763
  5. steven1350

    steven1350

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    862
    you should prolly call microsoft. I'm not totally sure, but I think they will send you another one at a discounted charge (less then retail). I pretty sure that it isnt free however
     
  6. aimeelou

    aimeelou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Thank you both for your help.

    The new disc might have to wait. Bill Gates had enough of my money at christmas (Santa bought my son a PC - expensive but preferable to a PS2).

    I'll definitely try that link. I suppose the next job is to find out just how one actually uses this back-up utility!
     
  7. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I do not recommend using Windows backup utility. The files generated can only be accessed on computers with the same OS that the backup was created with. If you only need to back up data, just copy that off to CDs, DVDs, or an external hard drive. Then you can access them from any system at any time.

    You didn't really explain where your Windows license came from. You said you paid extra. Where did you buy your computer? Do you remember anything about the disk you paid extra to get? Unless it was a retail copy, you'd have to contact the computer manufacturer.
     
  8. cmw2010

    cmw2010

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    The phone number to obtain a replacement cd is, (800) 360-7561, I am sure the cost for a replacement cd is very minimal, probably less than $20 shipped. You are only paying for the cost of a CD not a whole new license. Here is also a link that will explain a little more. http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;[ln];326246
     
  9. aimeelou

    aimeelou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Hi guys,
    Sorry it's taken me a little while to get back, people to see, dogs to feed and all that.

    Doublehelix:
    Yes, I will copy all my data onto seperate discs. However, I do still want a disc - my PC has become very clogged through programmes I have downloaded then uninstalled etc., I am trying to tidy everything up, but there is so much I can't identify or seems to be in the wrong place that I need the security of the disc should it all go wrong.
    With regards to the license: I bought just the tower as I already had a PC but the motherboard died. The guy at the shop (a small independant store) assumed I already had an XP disc from my previous PC until I explained that I had bought it second hand, with XP already installed and never had a disc. So he explained I would have to buy a new disc for £70 which he supplied me with when I collected the new tower. I don't know whether that makes it any clearer?

    cmw2010:
    Unfortunately, I live in ol' Blighty, so I hope I don't have to ring America. However I do appreciate your help and will use the link to see if I can locate a UK telephone number. I have a feeling it will cost more than £12 ($20) as we're ripped off here in the UK ( I know, woe is me), but you never know. If it is that price, I think I could empty my piggy bank.

    Thanks again. I'll keep you posted.
     
  10. cmw2010

    cmw2010

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Sorry, I should have seen that, here is a link to Microsoft in the UK, only difference seems that they require proof of purchase. Don't know if the COA on your pc would count. http://support.microsoft.com/gp/contactusmsft
     
  11. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Given that you purchased a disk from a small computer shop, it's impossible to say what type of license you purchased. Some such shops sell OEM disks. Those can't be replaced by Microsoft. Do you have a receipt showing what you paid 70 pounds for? You cannot get anything from Microsoft without proof of purchase, so you'll need some type of receipt.
     
  12. aimeelou

    aimeelou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Do you know what - I think I'm just going to have to bite the bullet, swallow my pride and actually ring the guy in the shop.

    You may wonder why I didn't just contact him in the first place, so, cards on the table - I actually know him and every problem I've had with my PC I've been on the phone to him, only to find out that invariably, it's something I have done that has caused the problem.
    So, my New Years resolution was to learn how to properly do things on my PC istead of going off half-cocked, thinking I knew what I was doing and making problems worse than before.

    I hope you don't feel as if I've wasted your time, I really do want to learn as much as I can and hope to become a regular member of the site. :eek:

    I really appreciate the help I've received and will get back to you if and when this matter is resolved.

    Thanks again.

    aimeelou
     
  13. kniht

    kniht

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,763
    It's never a waste of time to be able to help someone with a problem they are having. :)
     
  14. aimeelou

    aimeelou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Aw thanks kniht. Now I feel much better:D
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - I've lost disc
  1. xyl3
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    571
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/536081

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice