1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I've tried everything... Any ideas?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by matt.choules, Sep 27, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. matt.choules

    matt.choules Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    378
    Hey, my PC freezes up.

    Here is all the info i can give:

    ecs k7s5a motherboard
    amd 2.0ghz Athalon XP processor
    2x512mb P133 SDR RAM
    1x130gb Harddisk, 1x40gb Harddisk,
    Radeon 7000 64mb SDRAM dual monitor graphics card,
    CD-WR
    350w Power supply,
    cheap soundcard,
    Win2k server v5.002195
    Service Pack 4

    I run Norton 2003 Corporate Edtion, and is fully updated. Windows has all the updates available. ALL of my drivers are recent and work fine. I have flashed the BIOS with the most recent version (that stopped it crashing for a day or two).

    There is nothing else i can think to do...

    It just freezes (no blue screen).

    Here is my HiJack log:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
    Scan saved at 01:01:55, on 22/09/2003
    Platform: Windows 2000 SP4 (WinNT 5.00.2195)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINNT\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\msdtc.exe
    F:\Norton\defwatch.exe
    F:\Dynu Systems\Basic\basicsvc.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\llssrv.exe
    F:\Norton\rtvscan.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\regsvc.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\MSTask.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\tcpsvcs.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\WBEM\WinMgmt.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\Dfssvc.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\inetsrv\inetinfo.exe
    C:\WINNT\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINNT\system32\MsgSys.EXE
    C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    F:\Norton\vptray.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\SK2690DM.EXE
    C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    C:\WINNT\wt\updater\wcmdmgr.exe
    F:\Motherboard Monitor 5\MBM5.EXE
    C:\WINNT\system32\internat.exe
    C:\WINNT\NCLAUNCH.EXe
    F:\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\taskmgr.exe
    F:\MICROS~1\Office\OUTLOOK.EXE
    F:\KaZaA Lite\kazaa.exe
    F:\KaZaA Lite\Speed Up.exe
    F:\Winamp\winamp.exe
    C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
    C:\Matt\Essential Programs\HijackThis.exe

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - f:\adobe\Reader\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - F:\Spybot\SDHelper.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,[email protected],&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINNT\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {46AE04C0-BCFA-4728-90E7-00EB4A8B3863} - (no file)
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinampAgent] "F:\Winamp\Winampa.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [vptray] F:\Norton\vptray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Hot Key Kbd 2690 Daemon] SK2690DM.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [wcmdmgr] C:\WINNT\wt\updater\wcmdmgrl.exe -launch
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MBM 5] "F:\Motherboard Monitor 5\MBM5.EXE"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [internat.exe] internat.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [NCLaunch] C:\WINNT\NCLAUNCH.EXe
    O4 - HKCU\..\RunOnce: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    O4 - Startup: taskmgr.lnk = C:\WINNT\system32\taskmgr.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = F:\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
    O4 - Global Startup: ZoneAlarm.lnk = F:\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Download with GetRight - F:\GetRight\GRdownload.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Open with GetRight Browser - F:\GetRight\GRbrowse.htm
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .mpeg: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\PLUGINS\npqtplugin3.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {0585238B-9CA6-4CCB-A9B2-FE4BA495E880} (AXWebMon Control) - http://www.trackercam.co.uk/smile1/AXWebMonProj1.cab
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37862.2384837963
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
     
  2. Mr_Webmaster

    Mr_Webmaster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    419
  3. matt.choules

    matt.choules Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    378
    I'm not using XP...

    ?

    Matt.
     
  4. Mr_Webmaster

    Mr_Webmaster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    419
    the re-instillation is the same, M$ used the same instillation file on Windows 2000 and XP. Why are you using Server as a regular computer anyways?
     
  5. matt.choules

    matt.choules Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    378
    I have just now ungraded to XP pro...
    Have had one crash so far...
     
  6. Mr_Webmaster

    Mr_Webmaster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    419
    I crash my copy fairly often.
     
  7. matt.choules

    matt.choules Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    378
    I think we've narrowed it down either a faulty cpu or motherboard... And alot of people who have had the same motherboard has reported problems dwith it....

    MAtt.
     
  8. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,952
    Good hardware and properly installed os / software do not crash [or at least almost never]

    Some things to check.

    ECS motherboards they are known as one of the low quality mb mgfs. It is common to have problems with their boards.

    Download and run a ram tester. Here is a link. http://simmtester.com./

    Do you have the registry patch installed that addresses this problem with win2k? Here is the mskb article for reference.
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;EN-US;Q270715&
    I have written a vbs script that automates this, if you want it I can e-mail the script to you.

    CPU temps; check temp in the bios it should be <60C.

    Power supply; make sure you have a quality unit. If it is made by deer / foxconn / austin, do your self a favor and get rid of it and buy a quality unit.

    Get rid of file sharing [kazaa].
     
  9. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Are the two sticks of memory the same? NT based systems have fairly stringent memory requirements. I have seen this behaviour with sticks of supposedly similar memory but from different suppliers.
     
  10. Peter_Brown

    Peter_Brown

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Good Day,

    First and formost stop all of the things from running, go to Contol panel and find Services, if its XP or 2000 then its in administrative tools, if you are using NT or below it is in Control panel.

    Stop the Messenger service, that will eliminate a lot of the problems you are experiencing. Your operating system is broadcasting by way of the administrative ability to send alerts and messages. Its an old exploit that most likely will not be addressed, Remote desktop and Remote assistant are dependencies. Verify your service host versions are correct services and their attributes. You have just about every piece of spyware possible on your machine. Most likely your browser has been the point of infiltration. Also look in c:\windows\downloaded program files and find any that have an unknown status, unknown size, version is 0, creation date is unknown, no attributes whatsoever, remove those active X objects.

    Do these things and I will check back to see how much of the problem has been alleviated, dont get drastic yet.

    Regards
     
  11. Peter_Brown

    Peter_Brown

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    All of those EXE files need to stop loading at startup, my word thats alot, most of those files in that log are not valid EXE files, they are variations on actual file names...my word you need to slowly and methodically go through those exe's and you will be fine.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - I've tried everything
  1. Coco767
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    384
  2. milo20
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    215
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167957

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice