Java Netbeans-HELP!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

shirtytrish

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
6
Please excuse me if something similar has been posted before!
I'm a novice at java, learning at uni!
My prob is, I need to install netbeans 3.6 (as this is the one I'm used to at uni)
I have yet to get this version downloaded and working properly, I have tried a newer version, which I can just about manage, the only prob is, now we are using the 'element' package, making console and drawing windows for assignments, and I cannot get it to work with later versions! (I only know how to use the 'mount file, import element. We are working from Duane Bailey's Java Elements, if that's any help)

It would be much appreciated if someone could either point me in the right direction to get it working in a later version, or help me find the JDK download for version 3.6 (as it's so elusive)

Thanks in advance, Trish.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2004
Messages
6,650
Hi shirtytrish,

Welcome to TSG ! :)

You need to download the J2SE version 1.4.2_04 from here. It is compatible with Netbeans 3.6.
 

shirtytrish

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
6
Thanks Chicon! I'll give it a try! Was just going to try and figure out version 5.0 again, to see if I was just missing something simple!
 

shirtytrish

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
6
well this is as far as i've got;

got everything installed ( as far as I know!)
Mount filesystem>archive>(element)zip> it then adds itself, but it doesn't 'finish' I managed to click finish once, it showed as being mounted at the bottom of the filesystems window, but when I tried to 'import' the drawing window, it came up with something like; you haven't got this mounted in the filesystem' (in simple terms) So am now a bit stuck again! ARGH!!!

ALTHOUGH the 'element' part didn't show any errors this time, so I'm getting closer to the solution I hope! :)

(BTW this is version 3.6) ;)
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2004
Messages
6,650
Sorry, shirtytrish ! I can't help about this issue.
I hope you will find the solution from here.
 

shirtytrish

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
6
Thanks for taking the time to answer anyway! :)
If it comes down to it, I'll drag my lappy into uni and get the techies to have a look!
;) Ta!
 

shirtytrish

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
6
BTW, just a thought, I could use another jave platfom to do my work, anyone got any suggestions for a quick and easy to use one?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2004
Messages
6,650
shirtytrish said:
BTW, just a thought, I could use another jave platfom to do my work, anyone got any suggestions for a quick and easy to use one?
Personally, I use Eclipse on my home computer (it's free) and Borland JBuilder on my office computer (it's not free and too expensive).

Link : www.eclipse.org
 

shirtytrish

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
6
ta for the link! I'll give it a go sometime! In the meantime, as it's got to be in tomorrow, and I've only got to 'animate' all the windows, I'll try writing the prog 'blind' and a/ hope for the best or b/ that the student resource centre has netbeans running so I can check it before I say goodbye to my work! :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top