Just bought a dell...how can i

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

PK-her0

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2007
Messages
1,553
hi guys,

i just bought a dell inspiron with windows 7
i havent started it up yet...but i want to install xp on it
do ihave to contact microsoft to deactivate windows 7
or can i simply use the same license to install it a year or two from now
please advise
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
If Windows 7 was preinstalled on the computer, unless you make an image of the hard drive before you install windows xp on it you are going to lose the ability to restore the preinstalled copy of Win 7 should you want to go back to it later. In that case you would have to purchase a new copy of Windows 7. Or purchase the software again from Dell if they sell it.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
17,212
I would not even think about doing this.
First you will need a new copy of XP and also make sure that Dell has XP drivers for ALL of the built in devices for this machine.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2004
Messages
3,888
Another method is to let Win7 installs itself. Shrink it to a small size. Clone it out (the whole disk). Remove Win7 (let Xp installer formats the disk). Install the XP. The Win7 can be used any time by swapping the hard disk back.

Didn't change the system when I got my laptop but I changed the hard disk this way within 24 hours of purchasing it. Since then I have swapped the hard disk some 5 times, in 160Gb, 250Gb, 320Gb, 500Gb hard disks and a 128GB SSD..
 

PK-her0

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2007
Messages
1,553
i checked and there are xp drivers...i need xp as it is an office machine thats connecting to exchange and all other things and i dont want the extra hastle!!!
 

antech

Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
Windows 7 would be just fine on that machine as the BIOS would be configured for Windows 7 and NOT for windows XP
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
antech, what in the world are you talking about? Beyond drive interface support, the BIOS is not configured for any version of Windows.

If you don't know something about a post, it's not necessary to respond.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
7,889
In that case you would have to purchase a new copy of Windows 7. Or purchase the software again from Dell if they sell it.
Not true, If you have the Original Dell W7 installation DVD (if one did not come with the system, call Dell and request one), you can reinstall W7, but it will be without all the Dell added software and any special Dell Drivers, you would need to download any special drivers from Dell.

Drivers
http://support.dell.com/support/topics/global.aspx/support/dsn/en/entry?c=us&cs=19&l=en&s=dhs

As suggested it would be best to make a Full disk image of that hard drive before downgrading to XP, this image can then be restored to the hard drive at any time to restore the PC to pre downgrade condition.




To download any Software that came with your Dell, register on this site, download the software and keep it in a safe place.

Pre-installed Software
https://smartsource.dell.com/Web/Welcome.aspx?ReturnUrl=/web/main.aspx

.
 

antech

Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
Some Manufacturer provide support for some specific OS in the BIOS.
Taking the example of the acer laptop(speaking generally),
On the acers site there are OS Specific Compitable BIOS Versions to download.
For My dads HP Compaq v3000,
there are XP and Vista BIOS's specifically available on the HP Site.
You can check them by yourself
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
7,889
Normally that type bios upgrade is to make the bios compatible with newer OS's, not to make them specifically compatible with a certain OS. So if you upgrade to a bios say for Vista, this does not mean it is not compatible for XP, it is backwards compatible with earlier OSs.

I know of no bios for consumer PCs that is for a specific OS only. Bios upgrades add OS compatibility, not remove it.

.

.
 

antech

Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
Thanks for updating me,Mumbodog.
But does it makes the HD compitable with XP?
I mean,with SATA Drive?
Will XP Recognize it as IDE one or as SATA one?
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
Some Manufacturer provide support for some specific OS in the BIOS.
Taking the example of the acer laptop(speaking generally),
On the acers site there are OS Specific Compitable BIOS Versions to download.
For My dads HP Compaq v3000,
there are XP and Vista BIOS's specifically available on the HP Site.
You can check them by yourself
Learn what you arer talking about to avoid looking even more foolish

The bios upgrades on most manuafacturers sites are offered in OS versions so the installer will woprk from inside the version of winodws you have

the old way of updating bios was to boot from a floppy before windows booted & use bios loader on ther floppy disc

the current method and normally safer method is to install the bios update from inside windows & that is why it is OS specific ( the installer/updater that is NOT teh actual Bios)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top