1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Just bought a new heat sink .... ?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by shebe, Jul 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shebe

shebe Thread Starter

Hi...

This is my first attempt at changing something "major" in my PC, so bear with me plz: After opening the replacement intel socket 487 heatsink and fan I ordered through the mail I noticed there was no "grease" enclosed. When I turned the part over there is a patch of grey (like a strip) over the round copper center of the piece. (There is no writing on it and it's a bit shiny.)

Obviously, I know better then too touch this.... And well, this probably will make me sound like a dunderhead, but I though it best to ask. Is this thermal tape (I've read about) or just something used to protect the copper core?

Also, if this isn't "tape" should I be looking for any particular brand of grease?

Thanks for lending me your know-how. It's appreciated. S

2. Elf-stone

Elf-stone

That's a thermal pad and does the same job as thermal paste without the fuss.
    If I'm not mistaken, some come with a thin plastic protective covering that must be peeled off before installing on the CPU.

Remember, there are no stupid questions, but they're the easiest to answer. :D

Did you mean socket 478, by the way?

3. shebe

shebe Thread Starter

Thanks Elf-Stone for the quick reply.

One other question if you please: Would there be "writing" on the thermal pad saying, "Peel this" or should I just try to lift an edge to see there is a film on it?

Thanks again!

Oh yea... You're right it is 478 not 487. (tucking fypos)

4. norton850

norton850

I doubt it will say anything on the protective cover, but the instructions that came with it should mention it if one exists.

5. shebe